I. Overview of the Collection
Title: Records of the Department of Sociology and Criminology
Dates: 1984-
Location: 07/14
Extent: 1 box (0.5 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
The first Barry College catalog, 1940-41, lists only three courses under the heading of sociology: sociology, social ethics, and papal encyclicals. Subsequent catalogs in the 40s added the following courses: social problems, child welfare, the family, and juvenile delinquency. Gradually more courses were added and a major in sociology was offered beginning in 1950, with Sister Elaine Scanlon as head of the Department. A bachelor of science degree was offered. In the early 1990s, when the criminal justice program was intnroduced, the name of the department became the Department of Sociology and Criminology.
The Criminal Justice program at Barry was first established in the School of Adult and Continuing Education in the fall of 1986. At that time it was included as an area of concentration for the Bachelor of Professional Studies degree. After continued research and evaluation, it was decided that the area of concentration be dropped in the ACE program and be placed in the School of Arts and Sciences. It was accepted in this school in the fall of 1988. Sister Beth Butler was engaged to coordinate the program as it was she who had done the ground work.
III. The Collection
The collection includes general information on the department of Sociology and Criminology, records of events sponsored by the Department, clippings, and flyers for both departments, helpful in informing potential students of the value of these academic fields, and listing professional opportunities open to those who major in these subjects. The flyers also offer thumbnail sketches of the faculty members in the Department of Sociology and Criminology. The collection also includes information about the Urban Studies Institute at Barry University.
IV. Container list:
Box Title
14 Dept. of sociology and criminology: general information, 2009-
Academic Programs: Criminology, 1990-
Academic Programs: Sociology, 2000-
Events, 2003-
Faculty, 2001-
Urban Studies Institute, 1984
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, n.d.
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012
Preferred Citation: Records of the Department of Sociology and Criminology, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
