Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

7 School of Arts and Sciences: Fine Arts Department

Records of the Department of Fine Arts

I. Overview

Title: Records of Fine Arts Department

Dates: 1956-

Location: 07/6-7

Extent: 6 boxes (3 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

In 1973, the art, music, and theatre departments were combined into the Fine Arts Department with coordinators for each area and a chair for the department. In Barry's early years, however, there were separate departments, each with its own Head. The first head of the art department was Sister Joannes O'Connor, O.P., and her 'studio' was a room in the present Adrian Hall. Music courses, likewise, were taught in Adrian Hall and were under the sole supervision of Sister Denise Mainville, O.P. The theatre department, originally called Speech and Drama, was directed by Sister Trinita Flood from 1946 to 1953, with all productions being presented on the stage area of Stella Matutina dormitory (now Weber). With the construction of the auditorium and fine arts complex in 1955, the art, music, and theatre departments had state-of-the-art facilities, the number of majors increased, and the programs expanded considerably.

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes general administrative and faculty departmental records. It also includes programs, newspaper clippings and publicity of the fine arts visual and performing arts.

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

6          Dept. of Fine Arts, 1956-

            Patricia Minnaugh Papers, 1987-1988

            Faculty,

            Art-Painting/drawing, 1992-

            Graphic Design, 2006-

            Photography, 1983

            Yearly Schedules, 1972-

           16 Artists 16 Years Later, 1994

            Paris Exhibitions, 1999-2004

            Partners in Health (PIH) - Photography Exhibit: On the same map, 2010

            Partners in Health (PIH) - Ceramics : Empty Bowls for Haiti, 2010

            Shakespeare Festival, 2013

            Andy Gato Gallery, 2008-

            Farrell Hall Photo gallery, 1998

            Gallery Exhibitions, 1983-

            Senior Art Show Invitation, 1981-2003

            Senior Art Show Invitation, 2004-2007

            Senior Art Show Invitation, 2008-2010

            Senior Art Show Invitation, 2011-

           Senior Student Exhibit: Candice Kenmuir, 2005

           Juried Student Exhibition, 2010

           13 New Faces / An Art Exhibition, 1978

           Alumni accomplishments

6a        Music, 1975-

            Music programs, 1980-

            Music-Guitar/instrumental, 1992-

            Music-Piano, 2002-

            Music-Voice/instrumental, 1996-

            Faculty recitals, 1974-

            Student recitals, 2005-

            Campus songs, 1944-1993

            Tara Singers, 1956-1998

            Tara Singers: Programs, 1950-1967

6b        Dance, 1980-

7          Theatre productions

7a        Theatre productions

7b         Theatre productions

7c        Sr. Marie Carol Hurley (Chari Speech & Drama Dept.) Scrapbook, 1954-1972

7x        Theatre productions oversize

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, n.d.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P.2010, revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of Fine Arts Department, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida.

Preferred citation for Theatre Collection: Barry University Theater Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects: Archives