Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

21 Institutional Advancement Alumni Association Records: Joyce Ann Tepley Collection

Images

 

Joyce Ann Tepley, Class of 1965

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Joyce Ann Tepley Collection

Dates: 1961-1967

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: 21/ 12 I - 12 J

Extent:  2 boxes (3 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical note

Joyce Ann Tepley graduated from Barry with a B.A. in Sociology in 1965. She is the founder of  The Thriving Living Community, and the author of "Thriving Through It - How They Do It: What It Takes to Transform Trauma Into Triumph," "Master the Art of Thriving Course," and "Five Key Strategies of Thriving."

As a Clinical Social Worker, Joyce spent forty years counseling people with a variety of emotional and relationship problems. That coupled with personal experience helped to identify the consistent qualities present among those who overcome adversity. While compiling the information needed to write her book Thriving Through It, Ms. Tepley interviewed several people who have faced major difficulties and are flourishing in spite of and because of problems.

Joyce Ann Tepley is a member of the National Association of Social Workers, the Texas Coalition of Individuals with Disabilities, and the International Post-Polio Health Association. Tepley lives in Dallas, Texas, with her husband Phil.

Source: http://www.prreach.com/clinical-social-worker-joyce-ann-tepley-offers-course-to-help-others-thrive-through-adversity/ 

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes a scrapbook with materials from her high school graduation at Nazareth Academy in Parma Heights, Ohio. It also includes materials relating to her freshman through senior years as part of class of 1965. These materials provide great insight into the extracurricular activities of the students when Barry was a college for women.

The collection also includes issues of some campus publications from 1961-1966, as well as other items past Joyce’s graduation from the College, such as Alumni newsletters or Barry Mark from 1967 to 1981.

 

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

12 I      Scrapbook

12 J      Barry College Publications

 

IV. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Gift, Joyce Ann Tepley, May 2015

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Ximena Valdivia

Preferred Citation: Joyce Ann Tepley Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida.