Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

21 Institutional Advancement Alumni Association Records: Alumni Association Records

Images

Barry College Alumni Association

      Constitution 1943

    Association induction 1958

 

          Reunion 1975

          Reunion 2000

            Reunion 2001

       

           Reunion 2012

        Reunion 2013

Barry University Alumni Association Records

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Barry University Alumni Association Records

Dates: 1943-

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: 21 / 10-12

Extent: 17 boxes (13.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

Barry College held its first commencement exercise on June 3, 1942, thus acquiring its first alumni group. The association was organized on May 1943 with the name of Barry College Alumnae Association. The purpose of the association was to serve and extend the interests and the influence of Barry and of the Dominican Sisters within the community mainly by fostering a spirit of loyalty among the graduates and former students, strengthening the relation between the alumni and the College.

In the early years, annual inductions of graduates into the alumni association were held during commencement week. The first alumni reunion on campus took place in 1963.

 

III. The Collection

This collection documents the work and history of the Alumni Association of Barry University. Records include material related to the constitution and organization of the association, minutes, programs, information about events, newspaper clippings, publications and memorabilia.

Photograph related to Events can be found in Barry University Photograph Collection.

The collection is organized into six series

Series I: The Department

Series II: The Association

Series III: Association Events

Series IV: Association Publications

Series V: Miscellaneous

Series VI: Alumni individual collections

Alumni personal collections details on a separate tab

 

IV. Container list:

Series I: The Department

Box     Folder title

10A  Alumni Relations Dept.

         Alumni Relations: Communications Audit, 2001

         Alumni Relations: Communication Planning Retreat, 2002

         Alumni Relations: Dedication of Alumni House, 1995 Oct. 10

         Alumni Relations: Demographic statistics, 1940s-1990s

         Alumni Relations: Orientation on Association, 2002

         Alumni Relations: Qualitative research Report, 2002 Mar.

         Alumni Student Recruitment Manual, n.d.

Series II: The Association

11A  Alumni Association, 1970-

         Alumni Association Board of Directors

         Alumni Association By-Laws

         Alumni Association Constitution, 1943-

         Alumni Association: Contribution campaigns, 1990-1998

         Alumni Association: Discussion on Candle in Chapel, 1962, 1964

         Alumni Association: Inductions, 1955-1962

         Alumni Association: Scholarships, 2004-

         Alumni Association: South Dade Chapter Scrapbook

11B   Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1943-1960

         Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1961-1966

         Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1967-1971

         Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1972-1975

11C  Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1976-1978

         Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1979-1982

         Alumni Association: Minutes of Meetings, 1983-1985

Series III: Association Events

11D  Barry License Plate

         Breakfast with Santa / Christmas

         Distinguished Alumni Award, 1977-

         Distinguished Alumni Award: nomination packet, n.d.

         Easter Egg Hunt

         Golden Shield Society, 1995-

         Habitat for Humanity

11E   Homecoming Reunion, 1960-1965

         Homecoming Reunion, 1974-1982

         Homecoming Reunion, 1992-1993

         Homecoming Reunion, 1995

         Homecoming Reunion, 1996

         Homecoming Reunion, 1997

         Homecoming Reunion, 1998

         Homecoming Reunion – School of Nursing – 40th Anniversary, 1997

11F   Homecoming Reunion, 1999 Feb 5-7

         Homecoming Reunion, 2000 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2001 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2002 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2003 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2004 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2005 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2006

         Homecoming Reunion, 2007 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2008 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2009 Feb.-Mar.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2010 Mar.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2011 Mar.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2012 Feb.

         Homecoming Reunion, 2013

11G  Homecoming Reunion, 2014

Series IV: Association Publications

11H  Alumni Connection, 1994- 1999

         Alumni Connection, 2000-2002

         Barry Family Album, 1968, 1995-1996

         Barry Today 1983- 1987

         Alumni Newsletter, 1944 Oct.–1953 Jan. 9

         Alumni Newsletter, 1958-1967

         Alumni Newsletter, 1967-1977

Series V: Miscellaneous

11I    Alumni Miscellaneous

         Alumni- Newspaper Clippings

         Alumni- Obituaries

         Romeo Da Silva Ramos (Student, 1982)

Series VI: Alumni individual collections (Details on separate tabs)

12A     Agnes Adamson Collection (Class 1961)

12B     Diane Balconis Quinn (Class 1962)

12C     Cynthia Dodd Scrapbook, 1955-1959

12D     Lorraine Miller Scrapbook (Class 1945)

12E      Rosemary Koppen Perry Collection (Class 1965)

               Patricia Kendall Triest (Class of 1969 - Nursing)

12F      Martha Saconchik Scrapbook (Class 1961)

12G     Sandra Southmayd Collection (Class 1963)

12H     Veronica Younger Collection (Class 1964)

            Phyllis Gray Collection (Class 1947)

12 I-J     Joyce Ann Tepley Collection (Class of 1965)

 

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, Alumni Association, 2008 Jan.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2008. Revised by Ximena Valdivia with the assistance of student Jennifer Pena, 2013.

Preferred Citation: Barry University Alumni Association Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives

Association Publications

           Newsletter

                Barry Today

          Alumni Connection

 

           Barry Family Album

       Alumni Directory 1963

        Alumni Directory 1990

        Alumni Directory 2002