Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

21 Institutional Advancement Alumni Association Records: Martha Saconchik Scrapbook

Images

 

 

Martha Saconchik, Class 1961

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Martha Saconchik Scrapbook

Dates: 1958--

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: 21 / 12F

Extent: 1 box (0.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical note

Martha (Marty) Saconchik received two degrees from Barry, BS in 1961 and MS in 1968. She came as a freshman in 1957 and immediately showed herself an all-round, energetic, enthusiastic student. She majored in physical education with minors in biology, education, and English. For four years she was a member of the Athletic Association, serving as president of that organization in her senior year. She was a member of the Sodality for four years, was on the student council in her senior year, and was active in the Playhouse, Science Club, and various other organizationns. In June of 1973, she married Lawrence Pytel and the couple moved to Tallahassee. For her fortieth anniversary alumni reunion in 2001, she organized a scrapbook of memories and biographies of classmates, and donated it to the Barry Archives.

III. The Collection

The collection includes a scrapbook with photographs, programs, newspaper clippings, certificates, some campus publications. Campus Song book, Barry College decals, memorial cards for Mother Gerald and Bishop Barry. Snapshot of Bob Hope receiving degree of Doctor of Hilarity, March 8, 1958. Included are also letters from members of the 1961 class describing their activities "for the past forty years."

In March, 2002, Martha gave to Archives a second scrapbook of mementoes of her Barry years, including programs of auditorium presentations, copies of the Barry Bulletin for 1958-59; program for reception honoring the newly appointed Bishop of Miami, Coleman Francis Carroll, Oct. 8, 1958

 

IV. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Gift; Martha Saconchik-Pytel; 2001-2012

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2001. Revised by Ximena Valdivia with the assistance of student Jennifer Pena, 2013.

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives