LibGuides: Social Work: DSM-5

DSM-5 Database

DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings-inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

Available eBooks

Dsm-5 Learning Companion for Counselors by Stephanie F. Dailey; Carman S. Gill; Shannon Karl; Casey A. Barrio Minton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781556203411
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors. After describing the major structural, philosophical, and diagnostic changes in the DSM-5, the book is organized into four parts, which are grouped by diagnostic similarity and relevance to counselors. Each chapter outlines the key concepts of each disorder, including major diagnostic changes; essential features; special considerations; differential diagnosis; coding, recording, and specifiers; and, where applicable, new or revised criteria. Clinical vignettes help both clinicians and students visualize and understand DSM-5 disorders. Author notes throughout the text assist readers in further understanding and applying new material.
DSM-5® Guidebook by Donald W. Black; Jon E. Grant
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781585625321
Publication Date: 2014
While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, the Guidebook illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use.
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview by Roberto Lewis-Fernández (Editor); Neil Krishan Aggarwal (Editor); Ladson Hinton (Editor); Devon E. Hinton (Editor); Laurence J. Kirmayer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781585624928
Publication Date: 2015
DSM-5® Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI -- and this unique handbook -- is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes.
DSM-5® Made Easy by James Morrison
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781462514427
Publication Date: 2014
Includes both ICD-10-CM and ICD-9-CM codes for each disorder. It also includes the Global Assessment of Functioning (GAF) Scale (from DSM-IV-TR), with a clear rationale for its continued use. More than 130 detailed case vignettes illustrate typical patient presentations; down-to-earth discussions of each case demonstrate how to arrive at the diagnosis and rule out other likely possibilities.
DSM-5® Self-Exam Questions by Philip R. Muskin (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781585625345
Publication Date: 2014
Test Questions for the Diagnostic Criteria elucidates DSM-5® through self-exam questions designed to test the reader's knowledge of the new edition's diagnostic criteria.
Study Guide to DSM-5 by Laura Weiss Roberts (Editor); Alan K. Louie (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781585625420
Publication Date: 2014
The Study Guide possesses a multitude of features that will benefit both learner and instructor: Foundational concepts of diagnosis are amplified with case vignettes, discussion questions, and recommended reading to enrich knowledge and practice.

DSM-5: Research Starter

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the primary classification scheme used to describe mental disorders identified in psychiatric practice in the United States; it is revised periodically. The manual, compiled by the American Psychiatric Association, provides a standardized definition and a numerical code for each of the mental disorders described. These codes are currently designed so that the majority of the DSM is consistent with the International Classification of Diseases (ICD), which is published by the World Health Organization (WHO). Whereas the ICD is used internationally, the DSM is used primarily in the United States, representing an American perspective on the classification of mental illness.

What DSM-5, the Updated Mental Health "Bible," Means for Diagnosing Patients (5/20/13) (FULL VIDEO)

The American Psychiatric Association released a new edition of the DSM, which doctors use to diagnose and treat mental disorders. Judy Woodruff discusses the changes and implications for both patients and professionals with Dr. Michael First of Columbia University and Dr. Steven Hyman of the Broad Institute. View Video.

Mastering DSM-5 and ICD-10 Diagnosis — A Lecture Full Video (06:11:12)

This advanced video seminar teaches mental health professionals to master clinical diagnosis and differential diagnosis using the DSM-5®, ICD-10 ,and online assessment tools. It examines key symptoms for each diagnosis, common differential diagnoses, and frequent comorbid disorders of anxiety, depressive, trauma-related, substance-related, psychotic and neurodevelopmental disorders. Using case examples and studies, the video discusses the clinical intake interview, differential diagnoses, online assessment tools to narrow diagnosis, and potential comorbidities. View Video.

Psychiatric Diagnosis and Interviewing (2hr 00min)

In this first volume of our new series, The DSM 5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing, Jason Buckles and Victor Yalom take a nuanced and critical look at psychiatric diagnosis and the DSM-5, and then demonstrate in a step-by-step manner the components and skills necessary to do a diagnostic interview.

Diagnosing PTSD, Adjustment, Generalized Anxiety and Panic Disorders (2hr 21min)

In volume 2 of our DSM-5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing series, learn how to obtain essential diagnostic information on some of the most common disorders therapists encounter—...

Diagnosing Depressive, Bipolar, and Alcohol Use Disorders (3hr 02min)

Volume 3 of our DSM-5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing series covers diagnoses that can sometimes overlap and be hard to distinguish from one another: Depressive and persistent depressive disorders, bipolar and substance use disorders.