Social Work: Tests & Measurements

The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Eachinstrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This volume focuses on scales for use with adults; its companion provides a range for couples, families, and children. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums arepowerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to or update of their libraries.Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.

The Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Third Edition offers busy professionals and graduate students a complete review of today's most commonly used psychological assessment tests. This step-by-step guide condenses countless manuals and texts into one easy-to-use volume and points out the most efficient methods for selecting tests, evaluating interview data, and integrating results into a cohesive psychological report. Readers familiar with the successful previous editions will find updated systems for evaluating the classic tests: Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Bender-Gestalt, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test (TAT), Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI/MMPI-2), projective drawings, and California Psychological Inventory. Each test is reconsidered for validity and overall reliability in light of current clinical thought and scientific development. Additional chapters cover new and revised tests and the increased importance of treatment planning in the age of managed care. This updated and expanded Third Edition includes: Updated systems for evaluating the classic tests New and revised tests, such as the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory for Adolescents (MMPI-A) and the new Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC III) New sections on ethics and test selection A new chapter on the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory (MCMI) Expanded coverage of neuropsychological assessment Expanded coverage of treatment planning, including a new chapter on systematically integrating test results into a treatment plan Like its predecessors, the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Third Edition is an indispensable reference for graduate students, clinical psychologists, therapists, school psychologists, and counselors. From the reviews of the Second Edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment "[The book's] purpose has been splendidly realized by Groth-Marnat, who has combined current scientific and clinical understandings and clear writing with an excellent sense of organization." --Bertram H. Rothschild, ARBA 92 ". . . a commendable volume in which the author condenses information, normally in several locations, into one reading . . . an excellent text for graduate courses on psychological assessment. It would familiarize the student with the entire enterprise of clinical assessment and provide enough of a how-to guide for the student to carry out an assessment practicum." --Contemporary Psychology "For both practitioners and students of psychological assessment, the expanded and updated Handbook provides guidance to the selection, administration, evaluation, and interpretation of the most commonly used psychological tests." --Reference and Research Book News

Neil J. Salkind guides readers through the fundamentals of tests and measurement, using the conversational writing style and straightforward presentation techniques that have made his book Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics an international bestseller. He provides an overview of the design of tests, the use of tests, and some of the basic social, political, and legal issues that the process of testing involves. The Second Edition includes more opportunities to practice, and end-of-chapter sections that apply the material to everyday concerns regarding the assessment of behaviour.

Overall, this is an excellent guide to the use and administration of psychological tests. It provides straightforward directions and instructions on how to utilize testing in such a way as to better inform clinical practice. I could see this book as a mainstay on any counselor's bookshelf, especially those who are seeking a way to utilize standardized testing in their practice."--The Professional Counselor Journal "Finally, a detailed and crystal clear guide to psychological assessment that effectively integrates 'best practices' with the realities of negotiating the mental health care system and insurance providers. I plan to draw on this practical guide in my private practice and to incorporate it as a required text in my advanced counseling assessment classes at both the master's and doctoral level. This book is a treasure for any mental health professional involved in psychological assessment." Joseph G. Ponterotto, PhD Professor of Counseling Psychology, Fordham University Standardized psychological testing is often essential for reliably determining the presence of a wide range of psychiatric and personality disorders, along with effectively addressing related issues that may require a psychological referral. This nuts-and-bolts guide to conducting efficient and accurate psychological testing in clinical settings provides mental health professionals with experienced guidance in the entire process, and includes a complete set of forms and templates for all aspects of assessment and testing, from the initial referral and diagnostic interview to the final report. Based on the author's experience with over two thousand psychological and neuropsychological testing cases, this highly practical book presents a standardized process of assessment, testing, interpretation, report-writing, and presenting feedback to patients, family members, and other professionals. Actual case examples of patients from a wide age range illustrate the assessment and testing process in action. The text provides printed and electronic versions of referral and related forms, initial psychological assessment report templates that include critical areas of coverage for obtaining insurance approval, and interpretation tables for an exceptional inventory of key standardized psychological tests. Integral to the book is a review of psychological tests in seven key categories that most effectively address differential diagnostic dilemmas and related referral questions that clinicians are likely to encounter in practice. It also provides effective strategies for selecting the appropriate tests based on the particular diagnostic questions, guidance for successfully obtaining insurance approval for a targeted yet feasible number of testing hours, and an efficient system for simultaneous test interpretation and report writing. Key Features: Includes an overview of the assessment process, from the initial referral to completion of the final report Features effective reviews of commonly used tests, including neuropsychological, intelligence, personality, and behavioral inventories Includes print and digital templates and forms for all phases of assessment and testing Aids clinicians in both private practice and other health care settings to work within managed care and be effectively reimbursed for services Includes information on conducting forensic competency to stand trial assessments, including the author's new measure of assessing a defendant's understanding of the legal system