Location: 04/53 (paige box)
Extent: (1 linear ft.)
II. Historical note
The Board, which is attached to the state Department of Education, focus on improving the quality of education offered by private colleges in Florida. Its main purposes are to facilitate and promote the acquisition of a minimum satisfactory education by all the citizens of Florida, and to protect the individual student from deceptive, fraudulent, or substandard education, protect the nonpublic colleges, and protect the citizens of Florida holding academic degrees.
All rules amendments and new forms prepared by the Board must be reviewed by the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee (JAPC) for compatibility with the Administrative Procedures Act. Rules must also be approved by the Governor and Cabinet, sitting as the State Board of Education.
For some years during her presidency of Barry University, Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin served as Chair of the State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida. To maintain eligibility for state funds, "institutional data" was submitted annually, and by virtue of accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Barry received Certificates of Exemption testifying that it met the licensing requirements of Chapter 246, Florida Statutes.
III. The Collection
The collection includes material related to the State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida, such as correspondence, certificate of exemptions, institutional data, annual reviews, handbooks, agenda and minutes of meetings. The collection roughly covers years of Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin's presidency (1981-2004).
The collection is organized by type of document into three series arranged chronologically.
IV. Container list
04/53 Correspondence, 1978-2001
Members and committees, 1981-1996
Members and committees: Sr. Jeanne O’Laughlin, 1987-1994
Meetings: agenda, 1979-1998
Meetings: minutes, 1983-1994
Standards for accreditation, 1991-1992
04/53 Annual reviews and certificate of exemption, 1980-2001
Institutional data, 1980-2000
Survey of Independent Colleges and Universities, 1980
04/53 1992-1993 SBICU management planning and review process, 1993
Comparison of standards, 1994
Florida State postsecondary review entity fiscal year 1993 plan, 1993
Florida Statute: 246.011 – 246.151, 1991
Guidelines for the quality education system, n.d.
Handbook for Board members, 1994
The higher education amendments of 1992
Review of personnel structure, administrative procedures, and
agenda organization, 1992
A review of the State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities
in the Department of Education prepared pursuant to the
Sundown Act, 1980
Rules State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities, 1993
SB 80-H, Reauthorization Bill, 1992
SB 1430-HB 1093 (Regulation of nonpublic religious colleges), 1993
Summary of proposed rules amendments, 1989
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, President's Office, 2009 Jul.
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011
Preferred Citation: Records of the State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida