Title: Sister Dorothy Browne Collection
Extent: 3 box (1.5 linear ft.)
II. Biographical note
Sister M. Dorothy Browne, OP, PhD (1907-1997)
Born in Chicago and the youngest of nine children, Sister Dorothy attended Chicago Teachers College and the University of Chicago before joining the Dominican order at age 24. After receiving both her master’s and doctorate in education from Catholic University in Washington, D.C., she taught elementary school in Illinois and Michigan. She headed the education department at Siena Heights College in Adrian, Michigan, before coming to Barry.
Sister Dorothy Browne was assigned to Barry College first in 1942 as professor of education and supervisor for the Adrian Dominican schools throughout Florida. She became Dean of the College in 1946, holding that position until 1957 when she was elected to the General Council of the Adrian Dominican Congregation. She returned to Barry in 1963 as the first resident president, and served until 1974 when Sister Trinita Flood assumed the presidency.
When she left Barry in 1974, she studied contemporary theology and joined the faculty of Regina Dominican High School in Wilmette, Illinois. She later retired to the Dominican Motherhouse in Adrian, Michigan, where she died on Easter Sunday, 1997.
III. The Collection
The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, press releases, programs and publications documenting Sister Dorothy’s presidency at Barry College. It also includes biographical information and awards and recognitions.
IV. Container list
11 Biographical Data
Sister Dorothy Browne, 1966-1968: interview transcription
Sister Dorothy Browne, 1975-1997
11 Installation as President, Feb. 5, 1964
Memoranda, 1968, 1970
Correspondence from public figures, 1968-1975
Correspondence to Mother Genevieve Weber, 1963-1966
Barry College: Open House, Oct. 23, 1972
President’s Report: The Founders Made Me Do It
12 Presidency files by year, 1963-74
Correspondence with Bass Museum of Art, 1965, 1967
Newspaper Clippings, 1963-1974
President Search Committee, 1974
13 Speeches and works, 1964-1979
Task Force on Coeducation, 1974
Traffic Light N.E. Second Ave.
Awards & Recognitions
13 Awards Presented to Sister Dorothy
Citizen of the Year Award
Barry Mark Honoring Sister Dorothy
Distinguished Service Award from FACU
President’s Dinner, 1974
Testimonial Dinner Honoring Sister Dorothy
V. Administrative Information
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011
Preferred Citation: Sister Dorothy Browne Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida.