I. Overview
Date: 1992-1993
Location: 04/27-28
Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
On August 24, 1992, Miami experienced a devastating hurricane, Andrew, described by Alvah Chapman as "our nation's costliest natural disaster." Chapman was Chairman of the Board of Directors of "We Will Rebuild," the program organized shortly after the hurricane. There were twenty-nine committees in this program, one of which was the Religious Community Committee, with Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin as Chair, and Reverend Walter T. Richardson, Co-Chair. The Religious Community Committee directed the rebuilding of more than thirty devastated churches; developed an "Adopt a Family" program in which more than 1,000 families were paired with other families volunteering their help and support; and brought many diverse citizens together in worship and camaraderie with Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Hanukkah celebrations.
Barry University reached out generously to assist employees who suffered from the effects of the storm. Sister Myra Jackson, Director of Human Resources, set up a Hotline and coordinated relief efforts on campus. The Hotline published a list of needs as well as a list of available housing for those whose homes had been severely damaged. Childcare schedules were set up. A "Barry University Hurricane Fund" was established so that donations could be sent to the Institutional Advancement Office for distribution.
On August 27, 1992, Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin wrote to President George Bush asking that special consideration for financial aid be given to students affected by the hurricane. She received a letter dated September 3, from the White House, assuring her of the president's concern. Offices were set up at specific educational institutions to review financial aid needs for affected students.
III. The Collection
The collection includes records of the Religious Community Committee, its meetings, numerous requests for assistance from church leaders, correspondence from construction companies, status reports, the final report of the Committee, expressions of gratitude, and copies of the pamphlet, "A Year After." The collection also includes records of Barry University's efforts in assisting its personnel affected by the hurricane and correspondence between Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin and the White House regarding assistance for students affected by the hurricane
Box Title
04/10 Archdiocese of Miami
Requests for Assistance
Offers of Help
Religious Community Committee
Meetings of Religious Committee
Report of Religious Committee
Churches in Need
Suggested Procedures for Distribution of Funds
Construction Companies Correspondence
Status Reports
“Adopt a Family” Project
Committee on Spiritual Support and Disaster Counseling
Agencies Helping
“We Will Rebuild” Early Organizing
“We Will Rebuild” List of Churches
“We Will Rebuild” Board of Directors
04/11 “A Year After” Booklet
Grant Request Log
Expressions of Gratitude
Barry University Assistance
Thanksgiving/Christmas/Hanukkah Services
“Women Will Rebuild”
Sister Grace Flowers’ Letters after Hurricane Andrew
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, President's Office, 2002 Aug. 19
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011
Preferred Citation: Records of Barry University's Response to Hurricane Andrew, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
