Barry University is committed to effective records retention to preserve its history, engage in best business practices, meet legal standards, optimize the use of limited storage space, minimize the cost of record retention, and ensure that outdated and unnecessary records are disposed of in a timely manner. In 2011 a Records Retention and Disposition Policy was approved and published to assist members of the Barry community in better understanding the records retention and disposition policy and responsibilities for all University employees, staff and faculty.
This official Records Retention and Disposition Policy lists the types of records to retain, the time of required retention, the designated repository and the procedures to dispose them when needed. To access the new policy, supporting documents and instructional materials, please go to http://bucwis.barry.edu/doit/records-management/ (login required)
Finding Aids are tools designed to help researchers understand manuscript and archival collections. They contain a number of elements or sections that describe the creators, the materials in the collection, and how it is organized. Finding aids they may include:
Overview: Title, dates, extent/size, and a brief description of the collection.
Biographical/Historical note: Narrative description of the biography or history of the individual or organizational creator of the collection
The Collection: An overview of the contents and physical arrangement of each collection. The Scope and content note describes what is in the collection, and Series Description would provide a brief description of the intellectual arrangement of a collection
Container list: List that provides a comprehensive and detail access to the physical arrangement of the contents of a collection in boxes and folders
Administrative information: Acquisition, access, and use information.
Finding aids may also include other useful resources related to each collection such as related materials or collections hold in the Archives
