Finding Articles - PSY 497 - Senior Seminar - LibGuides at Barry University

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracting Information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. Provides full-text links to 90 per cent of eric documents from 1997 to present as well as full-text links to 300 journal titles (be sure to click "full-text" box under "limit your results" options). Coverage from 1966 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window This database serves as central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and 12,000 full text publications, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award- Winning online reference resources features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 57 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Please note: You may want to search for full-text in PsycARTICLES using the PsycINFO (see below) database. PsycINFO is a more comprehensive database which will have the full-text of PsycARTICLES plus additional sources.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, indexes more than 1,700 periodicals including full text to 30+ journals published by American Psychological Association in PsycARTICLES . Provides full-text links to about 10 per cent of journal citations.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available; most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use; all records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development; most records include the actual test instrument.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

eJournal Directory Search for online journals available to you.
Print Journal Search for print journals, which are located on the 3rd Floor. If the journal is available online, link will be available.

If you need additional help to know how to search the databases in an efficient and effective manner, the search guides listed below will help to guide you in navigating the databases:

Citation Linker Enter citation information to link to full text

Other Sources & Evaluating Information

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google. However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles. A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Barry databases, this link (Full-Text @ Barry Library) will provide access to the full text. Note: searching must be done through the Barry server in order to be linked to the full text.

Advanced Search

This is a free online encyclopedia that anyone can edit, so be careful about using this as a reliable source.

See General Disclaimer.

Administration of Children & Families: Head Start Research Government site that provides reports, presentations and papers, and assessment instruments.
Assessment Technology Incorporated: Galileo Pre-K Online provides a data-driven, standards-aligned approach to the management of learning for children from infancy through age five.
Association for Middle Level Education The Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) is the leading international organization advancing the education of all students ages 10 to 15, helping them succeed as learners and make positive contributions to their communities and to the world. AMLE is committed to helping middle grades educators.
Association for Play Therapy Promotes the value of play, play therapy, and credentialed play therapists by advancing the psychosocial development and mental health of all people and sponsoring and supporting those programs, services, and related activities that promote.....
Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center National program that provides valuable resources to support the education, health, and social development of children
Edupotia
LD Online LD OnLine seeks to help children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD.
National Head Start Association National Association whose vision is to lead and advocate for the success of all children.
The Official Kwanzaa Web Site

Even though there is a wealth of reliable information available on the Internet, there is also a lot of misinformation. Since there is no regulatory agency to monitor the wide variety of information that is published on the Internet on a daily basis, it is often hard to tell if the information you access is reliable. Therefore, it is very important to evaluate Internet sources to determine the reliability. .

The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:

PSY 497 - Senior Seminar: Finding Articles

Databases

Other Sources & Evaluating Information