You can search for print books @ your library; other libraries; and Google books, which provide previews for some books.
Click on the relevant link(s) below and enter a topic of interest (example: "head start" AND "art therapy") in the text box, press enter, click on search, or submit:
Recommended Print Books @ Your Library:
Art as therapy with children by
Subject Art therapy for children.
Child psychotherapy.
Art Therapy -- in infancy & childhood.
Creative experiences for young children by
Subject Creative activities and seat work.
Education, Preschool -- Curricula.
Education, Primary -- Curricula.
Active learning.
Education, Preschool -- Activity programs.
Education, Primary -- Activity programs.
Culture & identity : life stories for counselors and therapists by
Subject Cross-cultural counseling.
Identity (Psychology)
Photovoice : Hamilton Youth Project.
Subject
Youth -- Canada -- Social conditions.
Photojournalism.
Documentary photography.
Social change.
Preventing early learning failure by
Early childhood education.
Learning.
Readiness for school.
If the book is not available at Barry, and is available at a Southeast Florida Library Information Network (SEFLIN) member library, current Barry students, faculty, and staff are allowed to check out the book from most SEFLIN member libraries. All you need is a SEFLIN card (the card is available at the circulation desk) and your current Barry ID.
Classrooms All Young Children Need : Lessons in Teaching from Vivian Paley by
Subjects:Paley, Vivian Gussin--1929-
Early childhood education--Philosophy
Play
Storytelling
Fantasy in children.
Rethinking Play and Pedagogy in Early Childhood Education : Concepts, Contexts and Cultures by
Subjects:Play
Early childhood education
Critical pedagogy.
Tune Up to Literacy : Original Songs and Activities for Kids by
Subjects:Children's libraries--Activity programs
Children's songs, English--United States
Language arts (Preschool)
Language arts (Primary)
Music in education.
Women Elders' Life Stories of the Omaha Tribe : Macy, Nebraska, 2004-2005 by
Subjects:Baxter, Eleanor
Saunsoci, Alice
Háwate
Omaha women--Biography.--Nebraska--Macy
Older women--Biography.--Nebraska--Macy
Omaha Indians--Biography.--Nebraska--Macy
Indian leadership--Nebraska--Macy
Omaha Indians--Social life and customs.--Nebraska--Macy
Oral history--Nebraska--Macy
Macy (Neb.)--Biography.
If you are unable to visit a SEFLIN Member Library, you also have to option to request the book throught Interlibrary Loan.
Encyclopedia of Aging by
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also provides a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, and Web sites. 4 volumes
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including: human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation and teaching. Within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy. When taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through to adult education. There are few comprehensive overviews of the field of educational psychology and the purpose of this two volume Encyclopedia is to share this information in a way that is informative without being overly technical or intimidating. With more than 275 contributions, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. The Encyclopedia includes technical topics related to educational psychology, but also focuses on those topics that evoke the interest of the everyday reader. Key Features " Addresses topics that are of particular interest to the general public such as vouchers, Head Start, divorce, elarning communities and charter schools " Covers subjects that are rich, diverse and deserving of closer inspection by an educated reader who may be uninformed about educational psychology " Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy " Presents many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education. Key Themes " Classroom Achievement " Classroom Management " Cognitive Development " Ethnicity, Race and Culture " Families " Gender and Gender Development " Health and Well-Being " Human Development " Intelligence and Intellectual Development " Language Development " Learning and Memory " Organizations " Peers and Peer Influences " Public Policy " Research Methods and Statistics " Social Development " Teaching " Testing, Measurement and Evaluation " Theory
Encyclopedia of Human Development. by
The first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With over 600 entries organized from A-Z, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by
This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. An excellent resource for those interested in improving their awareness and comprehension of cultural practices prevalent among and between all people.
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia. by
Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Explores how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.