Skip to main content

00 Archives and Special Collections: Home

We welcome your feedback!

Archives Information

Location:

Lehman 201

 

Hours of Operation:

Monday-Friday

9am-5pm

 

Contact Information

Phone: 305-899-3027

Email: archives@barry.edu

           xvaldivia@barry.edu

University Archives and Special Collections

Archives & Special Collections, a department of the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library, is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary source materials that support the research needs of the Barry University community and beyond. Materials available in our department include: University Records, Rare Books and Special Collections.

The Barry University Archives and Special Collections Department was established in 1991 under the direction of Sister Dorothy Jehle, O.P. It is located on the second floor of Lehman Hall.  Archives is administratively placed under the Director of the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library. All the collections are non-circulating and maintained in closed stacks; materials are retrieved for patrons by the Archives and Special Collections staff.

Collections

University Records are the permanent historical records of Barry University, from its founding in 1940 to the present. These records document the governance, administration and academic pursuits of the institution. The records are organized in record groups according to their office of origin. For more details and access to finding aids go to: University Records

Special Collections include personal and institutional manuscripts and paper collections of unique research value that document the lives of Floridians or may be distinguished by their specialized subject matter, age, uniqueness, or value. For more details and access to finding aids go to: Special Collections

Rare Book Room collection includes materials that, because of subject coverage, rarity, source, condition, form, or significant value are best handled separately from the general circulating collection. Rare books and special periodicals may be searched throughout the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library online catalog and are scoped and located under Main Archives. To access the library catalog go to: Search the Catalog

Services

Access and use: Access to materials pertaining to Archives and Special Collections will be allowed in reading room only, materials do not circulate and stacks are closed. Collections may be located using the library catalog or research guide site.

Research: Provide research assistance and engages emerging scholars with undergraduate internship opportunities. Research inquiries are taken in person, by telephone, by e-mail, or by mail.

Digitization Services: Provide scanning services of materials in our collections to the Barry community and visitors for research or administrative purposes.

Instruction and Tours: Prepare instructional sessions for undergraduate and graduate level classes and provides introduction to the Archival work and its resources.

Exhibits: Coordinate exhibitions to enrich the cultural and intellectual life of the university community by displaying notable objects of historical distinction.

Librarian / Archivist

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website / Blog Page

Archives Staff