Skip to main content

Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh Papers: Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh Papers

Digital Content available at the Digital Library of the Caribbean

Overview of the Collection

Title: Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh Papers

Dates: 1948-2001

Extent: 72 boxes (ca.58 linear feet total)

Creator: Bryan O. Walsh (1930-2001)

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: ASC0001

Abstract: This collection documents the private and public life of Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh between 1948 through 2001. Materials include personal & family papers, subject files, works, photographs, scrapbooks and audiovisual materials.

Language of Material: English with some articles in Spanish and some correspondence in Irish

Biographical Note

Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh was born in 1930 in Portarlington, Ireland, in a middle class urban family. He attended Jesuits preparatory schools and colleges -Crescent College, SJ. He began his studies for the priesthood at Mungret College, SJ, Ireland, then entered St. Mary’s Seminary, Baltimore, Md., where he received his licentiate in theology and was ordained for the Diocese of St. Augustine, Fla. in 1954.

He received a Master of Arts degree in sociology at the University of Northern Colorado, and another master’s degree in Latin American Studies at the University of Miami. During the 1970s he served as an adjunct professor at the Barry College School of Social Work. He received honorary doctorates from the Universidad Catolica de Puerto Rico, Mercy College, NY, the University of Miami, Barry University and St. Thomas University.

In 1955 he was appointed as Assistant Director of Catholic Charities in the Archdiocese of Miami, FL, by Bishop Joseph P. Hurley, in 1958 he became Director.

From 1960 to 1981, Monsignor Walsh directed the Cuban Children’s Program/Operation Pedro Pan, which brought 14,000 unaccompanied children from Cuba to escape communism. About 7,000 of these children were given care through Catholic Community Services.

During the 1980’s under Catholic Health Services, Monsignor Walsh developed nursing homes, congregate living facilities, independent living complexes for the elderly, a home health care agency, a hospice program, and a residence for homeless people with AIDS.

Monsignor Walsh served as a trustee of the Public Health Trust of Dade County (1971-80), and as chairman (1978-80); as a member of the Dade County Community Relations Board (1982-86), and as chairman (1984-86). He was vice president of Catholic Charities USA (1983-85); chairman, Working Group on World Refugee Caritas Internationalis, Vatican City (1990-92); member, Board of Trustees, St. Thomas University, Miami.

He received recognition for community service, including -among others- the NCCJ Silver Medallion, the B’nai B’rith Florida Human Relations award, the Anti-Defamation League Florida Region Human Relations award, the Beta Lambda Fraternity’s Community Service Award, the 1983 Leadership Award of the Spanish American league against Discrimination, the 1985 Miami Herald Award, the 1985 Best and the Brightest, and the American Red Cross Humanitarian Award 1996.

He died of a congenital heart defect and was buried on Christmas Eve, 2001

 

Source:

Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh Papers, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

The Collection

Scope and content note: The bulk of the collection consists of personal & family papers, subject files, works and photographs by or about Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh from 1948 to 2001. The collection also includes scrapbooks and audiovisual materials.

Series Description: The collection is organized into six series: Personal Files, Subject Files, Works, Photographs & albums, Scrapbooks and Audiovisual materials. Series are arranged in alphabetical order within subseries, except correspondence and scrapbooks which are in chronological order.

Series I: Personal Files

Sub-series A: Biographical data

Sub-series B: Appointments (Some restrictions may apply)

Sub-series C: Clippings

Sub-series D: Conferences & Workshops

Sub-series E: Correspondence

Series II: Subject files

Series III: Works

Sub-series F: Works by BOW

Sub-series G: School papers by BOW

Sub-series H: Works by others

Series IV: Photographs & Albums

            Sub-series I: Photographs

            Sub-series J: Albums

Series V: Scrapbooks

Series VI: Audiovisual materials

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Gift of Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh, 2001

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research, some Use Restrictions may apply.

Use Restrictions:

-Researchers visiting the Archives and Special Collections can request to see

       any of the boxes in the BOW collection.

- Researchers may not request photocopies of anything in Series B: BOW

        Appointments (boxes 4 to 12).

- Researchers may obtain photocopies of anything in boxes 1 through 54 except

        boxes 4 to 12.

- Researchers may not use a personal digital camera to photograph any part of the

        BOW collection.

- Other restrictions may apply.

Processed by: Ximena Valdivia, 2010

Preferred Citation: Monsignor Bryan O. Walsh Papers, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website / Blog Page