LibGuides: SPA 300-Hispanic Caribbean Literature and Music: Articles

Databases

Databases provide a descriptive record of an item (journal article, video, book review, etc.). Information about the item is provided, including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, etc. The information provided is called a citation. Sometimes a short summary or abstract of the item is provided as well. The full text of the item may not always be available in the database you are using. If you need assistance, contact me!

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
General reference source for full-text articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting Information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. Provides full-text links to 90 per cent of eric documents from 1997 to present as well as full-text links to 300 journal titles (be sure to click "full-text" box under "limit your results" options). Coverage from 1966 to present.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and 12,000 full text publications, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award- Winning online reference resources features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, reports and videos.
Taylor and Francis Online Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of scholarly journals, covering all subject areas.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001.

Evaluating Websites

There is a vast amount of information available on the Internet. However, the Internet is not regulated by any agency, so anyone can post information that may not be reliable. Therefore, it is important to evaluate the information before using it as a source.

The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:

Google Scholar

If an article is available in any of the Barry databases, the link Full-Text @ Barry Library will provide access to the full text. If an article is available through another source [PDF], [DOC], or [HTML] will be noted next to the article.

Always evaluate the source and content of any article before including it in your research paper.
Search Google Scholar when you are logged in to the Barry server in order to obtain the full text.

Check out this tutorial for helpful tips on using Google Scholar:

SPA 300-Hispanic Caribbean Literature and Music: Articles

Databases - Finding Articles

Databases

Evaluating Websites

The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:

Google Scholar