LibGuides: Green Living and Sustainability: Websites and More!

Featured Magazines

Consumer Reports
Get the Expert, Unbiased Advice on how to save hundreds, even thousands on products and services.
Mother Earth living
Each issue of Mother Earth Living features advice to create naturally healthy and nontoxic homes for yourself and your loved ones.

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google. However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles. A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Barry databases, Full text @ Barry Library will provide access to the full text. Note: searching must be done through the Barry server in order to be linked to the full text.

Google Scholar: Advanced Search

Web Sites of Interest!

Disney Family Going Green
Multitude of tips for the family on how to go green.
Energy Star
Energy efficient choices can save families about a third on their energy bill with similar savings of greenhouse gas emissions, without sacrificing features, style or comfort. ENERGY STAR helps you make the energy efficient choice.
Environmental Working Group
Organization's team of scientists, engineers, policy experts, lawyers and computer programmers expose threats to health and environment, and to find solutions.
EPA's Office of Research and Development Sustainability Program
This Web site provides easy access to EPA programs and research activities related to: Safe and Sustainable Communities, Sustainable Water, Air, Climate and Energy, Safer Products for a Sustainable World.
The National Geographic Green Guide
Intended for general consumers, GREEN GUIDE (in its book, magazine and online formats) shows people how to make small changes that add up to big benefits for their wallets, for their health, and, of course, for the health of the planet.
Miami Dade Office of Sustainabilty
The Office of Sustainability is working to make San Antonio a great place to live, work, and play while enhancing the environment, quality-of-life, and our economic vitality.
U.S. Dept of Energy
The Department of Energy's overarching mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States and to promote scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission.
U.S. Green Building Council's Green Home Guide
Provides reviews and advice for green remodeling and living. Includes articles, directories of recommended products, and access to green building professionals and retailers.