The Law Library extends a warm welcome to all new Barry law students! Each summer, some of the librarians participate in the A2O program with a presentation called Demystifying the Law Library. During that session, we briefly demonstrate some Law Library services that will come in handy during your next few years at Barry. These tools can be great resources to help make your life easier and make your research smarter, so be sure to take advantage of them while you are here at Barry. Please ask the Law Librarians for assistance and more information.
Online Study Aids Supplement your class preparation or prepare for finals using these online collections of some of the most popular study aids. All students have unlimited access and can create their own accounts to annotate and highlight within each digital book.
LexisNexis is one of the major online legal research services, providing lawyers and legal scholars with a vast array of cases, statutes, secondary sources like legal treatises, and a huge selection of news resources, all in an easily-searchable format. All this, and they offer free printing on campus!
Westlaw is a premier online legal research system, where lawyers and legal scholars can find a great deal of the information they need for the study and practice of law. Content includes primary and secondary authority, practice-ready resources, and other research resources, including news and journals.
Bloomberg Law is a legal research system with a focus on transactional law resources, forms, treatises, legal and business news, federal court dockets, and other practitioner materials. Bloomberg Law provides access to United States Law Week, which provides the latest news and most important cases from the U.S. Supreme Court and federal courts.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) includes interactive lessons and tutorials for all the subjects you'll study in law school, with questions to quiz you and provide immediate feedback on what you have learned. Some professors assign CALI lessons as homework!
Fastcase is a legal research service that provides access to primary law from all jurisdictions in the United States. Most state bar associations, including the Florida Bar, provide access to Fastcase as part of its bar membership benefits.
HeinOnline is a research service that provides a vast library of historical law sources, as well as a huge collection of articles from law reviews and journals. Look here for older journal articles or titles you can't get through Lexis or Westlaw. HeinOnline has the most comprehensive collection of journals going back to the first edition. The scanned PDFs are how the article appeared in the journal.
Florida Bar Journal and Florida Bar News provide informative, practice-oriented articles, legal news, and editorials about the legal industry and community in Florida. They are useful for following what’s going on in our profession.
ProQuest US Newstream is a great place to find newspaper and magazine articles of all sorts. Exclusive access to 85 full-text newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, and the Los Angeles Times. This service is provided by Barry’s main library.
Academic OneFile provides access to scholarly articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines. It can help you add a multidisciplinary angle to your papers.
ProQuest Congressional What were they thinking? Discover what Congress was thinking and the kinds of information they considered when considering new legislation. This service includes CRS Reports, studies that can be extremely useful when examining policy.
Barry Law Library Reference Librarians
LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu
Main Phone: (321) 206-5700
Schedule a Personal Research Consultation (PERC):
LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu
Jason Murray, JD, MSLS
Tenured Reference Librarian
Associate Professor of Law Library
jwmurray@barry.edu
(321) 206-5725
Cynthia Barnes, JD
Reference Librarian
Assistant Professor of Law Library
cbarnes@barry.edu
(321) 206-5729
Kim Wilson, JD, MSIS
Reference Librarian
Assistant Professor of Law Library
kwilson@barry.edu
(321) 206-5728
