Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHO 421 / PHO 521 - History of Photography, Film and Art: Photography Publications

This Guide presents Library resources to assist you in finding articles and information for PHO 421 / PHO 521

Photography Journal: Afterimage (online)

Afterimage (online): Covers photography, film, video and the visual book / Includes articles, interviews, essays and reviews. 

To find articles in Afterimage, search in the databases below:

Photography Journal: Aperture (Print)

Aperture, published by the Aperture Foundation, contains illustrated profiles of photographers, thematic essays and book reviews.

Aperture issues are located on the Library's 4th floor - Oversized Books TR640 .A64  (Library Use Only)

To find photographic essays and information on your topic in Aperture:   

  • Browse issues of Aperture available on the 4th floor Oversized Books. 
  • Search Humanities International Complete database - Note: this database provides a citation, not the full text of the article.
  • Use the citation to find the article full-text in Aperture on the 4th floor Oversized Books.

Photography Journal: Contact Sheet (Print)

Contact Sheet, published by Light Work, features the photographic work of artists who have participated in Light Works' artist-in-residence and exhibition programs. 

Contact Sheet issues are located on the Library's 4th floor - TR640 .C66  (Library Use Only)

Photography Journal: DoubleTake (Print)

DoubleTake, a literature and photography journal, was published by Duke University, Center for Documentary Studies, 1995 - 2003. 

DoubleTake issues are located on the Library's 4th floor - TR654 .D681-688