Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

12 Graduate Medical Sciences: Podiatric Medicine

School of Podiatric Medicine Records

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: School of Podiatric Medicine Records
Dates: 1985--
Creator: Barry University. School of Podiatric Medicine
Location: 12 / 4-6
Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear ft.)
Language: English

 

II. Historical note

Barry University opened the School of Podiatric Medicine in 1985 with twenty students enrolled, even before of the inauguration of the School of Graduate Medical Sciences. Accreditation from the Council on Podiatric Medical Education followed in 1988, becoming the first fully accredited university in the U.S.A. with a School of Podiatric Medicine. The degree required four years of study. The first two years devoted to basic medical sciences and the last two concentrated on clinical science. Dr. Chester A. Evans, Dean of School of Graduate Medical Sciences, coordinated the academic activities of the program. In July, 2008, the School of Podiatric Medicine and the Physician Assistant Program moved from their temporary quarters on NE 116th Street to the new Center for Community Health and Minority Medicine at 320 NW 115th Street.

The Barry Foot and Ankle Institute was established in 1986 as part of the clinical training component for the doctoral program in podiatric medicine at Barry University. The clinics provide a center of excellence for teaching and research for students and residents of Podiatric Medicine. High quality, ethical and personal care is the standard for all clinics, regardless of the patients ability to pay.

In September, 1988, Barry University undertook the "Let Someone Fill Your Shoes" drive, under the sponsorship of the then School of Podiatric Medicine. The purpose was to collect thousands of shoes for the homeless men, women, and children in Dade County. Letters were sent from Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin, President of Barry, to prominent members of the south Florida community asking them to donate a pair of shoes to the cause. Collection boxes were placed in several Fire Departments and other prominent locations, and with the generous cooperation of businesses like Southern Bell, Florida Power and Light, Burdine's, etc., thousands of shoes were collected and distributed to the homeless.

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes correspondence, fact books (1991-2005), information about funding efforts, self studies, the AACPM Annual questionnaires 1993-1995, various school projects, a set of the publication Podiatric Quaterly, and information about Blue Cross/Blue Shield, Cedars Hospital and the Barry Foot and Ankle Institute (Box 4).

The collection also includes materials of Shoes Drive "Let Someone Fill Your Shoes", such as memoranda detailing how the drive originated, the letter of Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin and the list of notables to whom she sent the request, flyers and correspondence relating to the project, and several reprints of newspaper articles about this type of project sponsored by the College of Podiatric Medicine in Chicago.

 

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, President's Office, 2001, 2009

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of School of Podiatric Medicine, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives