Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

12 Graduate Medical Sciences: Physician Assistant Program

Physician Assistant Program Records

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: School of Graduate Medical Sciences Records

Dates: 2002--

Creator: Barry University. School of Graduate Medical Sciences

Location: 12 / 1-3

Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear ft.)

Language:  English

 

II. Historical note

In 1997 the Physician Assistant Program was established, and in that same year the School of Graduate Medical Sciences was inaugurated, with Dr. Chester A. Evans as Dean, to coordinate the academic activities of the Podiatric Medicine and Physician Assistant programs. Other graduate medical science programs are anticipated. The Division of Medicine was established in July, 2006, to include all these programs. Dr. Chet Evans was named to lead the Division. In July, 2008, the School of Podiatric Medicine and the Physician Assistant Program moved from their temporary quarters on NE 116th Street to the new Center for Community Health and Minority Medicine at 320 NW 115th Street. The main objectives of the Center are : to provide health care services to the region's medically underserved population, prepare a new generation of health care providers with emphasis on minority outreach, develop new and innovative community health initiatives, and implement disease prevention programs tailored to minorities to reduce health disparity gaps.

he Yucatan Crippled Children's Project is sponsored by the Barry School of Graduate Medical Sciences, and is under the direction of Dr. Charles Southerland, Associate Professor of Podiatric Medicine. Dr. Southerland leads a surgical team to Yucatan almost every two months, depending on finances. The program began in 1996 and in 1999 received a $15,000 grant from the Frank J. Lewis foundation of Riviera Beach, Fla. In March, 2000, the project received $5,000 from Dr. James Stelnicki, who had flown with the team to help treat young children with deformities of the lower body.

The Barry Good News Care Center (GNCC) in Florida City, launched in 1993, is another project of the Graduate Medical Sciences School. In the first two years of operation, 129 volunteer GNCC physicians served 2,357 patients who were underserved and uninsured, lacking the ability to pay.

A Master in Public Health program was inaugurated in 2003 with its charter class graduating in May, 2005. According to Dr. Robert A. J. Fernandez, director of this program, modifications had been made "to make this one of the best programs in the country."

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes the history and purpose of the School of Graduate Medical Sciences, correspondence, self study reports, information about the Yucatan Project and the Good News Care Center, distinguished alumni and faculty files, information about the Center for Community Health and Minority Medicine, the Agnes Seminar and the Public Health Master Program.

The collection also includes information about the Physician Assistant Program, copies of the 2002-2005 Fact Books, articles about the first graduation, and copies of the program for the academic convocation and graduation.

 

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

1          Medicine, Division of

History and Purpose

Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Faculty

Report on-site evaluation, 1999 Jul.

Self Study, 1999

Appendix to Self-Study, 1999

2          PAS Fact booklets, 2002-2005

            Graduation Programs, 1999-

Public Health Master Program

3          Agnes Seminar

            Center for Community Health and Minority Medicine

            Yucatan Project

MEDexpress, 2000

Miscellaneous

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer,

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, 2008. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of School of Graduate Medical Sciences, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives