Adrian Dominican Sisters Logo
Seal of the Dominican Order
Madden Hall
Madden Hall - interior view
Madden Hall - interior view
Madden Hall - interior view
Weber Center
Roncalli Residence
Statue of Mary, Mother of God
Cosmic Walk
Labyrinth
Holy Rosary Chapel
Holy Rosary Chapel
I. Overview of the Collection
Title: Records of Adrian Dominican Congregation
Location: 01/36-48
Extent: 13 boxes (6.25 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
Founded in 1940, Barry University is sponsored by the Dominican Sisters of Adrian, Michigan. This dynamic religious order emphasizes study, contemplation, preaching, and community; these pillars of their religious life have led them to a vibrant spirituality, vigorous academic pursuits, and a strong commitment to make the world a more just place.
III. The Collection
The collection is organized into two series Barry Dominican Sisters and General Congressional Records.
Barry Dominican Sisters files contain biographical information, newspaper clippings, correspondence, awards and documents about each Adrian Dominican Sister connected to Barry University as staff, faculty or student. These files are arranged in alphabetical order by last name of the baptismal name of the sister.
General Congressional Records contain information about Adrian Dominican congregation, such as mission and history of the congregation, vocational material for recruitment purposes, conferences, and material documenting their work in education, health care and social work.
For preservation purposes, photographs are kept in the Photograph Collection.
IV. Container list:
Series I: Barry Dominican Sisters
Box Title
36 Barry Sisters (Alphabetical lists)
Barry Sisters (by year)
Barry Presidents: Correspondence with Dominicans
Barry Jubilarians
Barry Religious vocations, 1940-
Non-Barry Sisters
Miscellaneous
37 Albert, Peggy
Allen, Mary Urban
Allen, Rose Brendan
Audretsch, Rose Therese
Barret, John Norton
Barry, Gerald
Barry, Gerald – Honorary degree, U. of Santo Domingo, 1949 May
Barry, Marie Joseph
Bath, Mary Laetitia
Benedetto, Arnold
Bentz, Marie
Beuttenmuller, Dorothea
Bevilaqua, Linda
Bobola, Beverly
Bourne, Mary Benita
Boyle, Rita Cecile
38 Brennan, Eugenia Marie
Brennan, Mary Anne
Brennan, Mary Catherine [Thomas Gertrude]
Browne, Dorothy
Burke, Jane
Bruene, Joanetta
Butler, Beth
Carter, Michael James
Cavanaugh, Sara
Cella, Jean
Chmara, Marie Siena
Collins, Mary Alice
Comiskey, Jean Kathleen
Coressel, Lucy
Coston, Carol
Coulter, Mary
Deasy, Una
Diesing, Mary Irene
Dillon, Patricia
Donnelly, Kathleen
Duggan, Helen
Duwelius, Mary Kay
Emery, Katharine
Erd, Mary Ellen
Esnard, Leonor
Exworthy, Margaret
Ezoe, Magdalena
39 Fairbanks, Sara
Fay, Maureen
Fitzgerald, Mary Lourdes
Fleischaker, Mary Frances
Flood, Trinita
Flowers, Grace
Foley, Nadine
Francoeur, Petronilla
Franko, Mary Anselm
Frei, John Karen
Freiburger, Mary Cleophas
Freiburger, Mary Cleophas – from Barry Students
Gass, Barbara
Gibney, Marie Grace
Glendenning, Grace Alma
Goeddeke, Ann Bernard
40 Greene, Gonzaga
Griffin, Ann Thomas
Guettler, Rose Germaine
Hale, Lorraine
Harrison, Mary Carolyn
Harrison, Mary Edmund
Hart, Mary Jane
Hinds, Claudia
Hochanadel, Mary Rose
Honson, Marie
Horger, Mary Georgita
Hurley, Marie Carol
Hurley, Marie Carol – “Lifetime Achievement Award”
Hurley, Marie Carol – Archdiocese TV Program
Hurley, Marie Carol – Peace Education Foundation
Iott, Rose Catherine
Jackson, Myra
Jehle, Dorothy
Jehle, Dorothy, C.V.
Johnson, Margaret Mary
Jordan, Marie
Jordan, Mary Catherine
Kehoe, Mary Giles
Kennedy, Marie Martha
Kennedy, Mary Joseph
Kettler, Adrian
Kinney, Cyril Edwin
Kishpaugh, Mary Jerome
41 Klemm, Jeannine
Klimek, Mary Aquinata
Klinkhamer, Marie Carolyn
Lalonde, Regina Marie
Lang, Franz
Lathers, Maureen
LaVoie, Mary Eulalia
Leahy, Nora
LeBlanc, Rose Dominic
Lenaway, Mary Albert
Lerro, Gloria
Lorms, Molly
Lynch, Margaret Helen
Mainville, Denise
Maliga, Irene (Associate)
Marck, Myra
Maynard, Thoma
McDonald, Marie Brigid
McElroy, Rosemary
McFayden, Elizabeth
McGeever, Maura Padraig
McGill, Mary Margaret
McGinley, Helen Margaret
McGowan, Marie
McKennan, Theodora
McKeough, Noreen
42 Meyer, Clarisena
Minten, Grace Ellen
Mont, Mary William
Moore, Alice Joseph
Morman, Marilyn
Mullins, Mary
O’Brien, Francis Claire
O’Callaghan, Marguerite
O’Connor, Grace Alice
O’Donnell, Marie Joannes
O’Laughlin, Jeanne
Osentoski, Noella
Pasek, Grace Alexis
Peña, Rose Monique
Pety, Mary Aquiline
Petz, Joan
Phillips, Maura
43 Piche, Evelyn
Prendergast, Agnes Cecile
Raftrey, Mary de Lellis
Reuter, Grace
Rice, Eileen F.
Riley, Maria
Rissert, Mary Anne
Scanlon, Elaine
Schaeffer, Rita
Schiltz, Mary Damian
Schmit, Ann Carolyn
Scott, Arlene
Sheridan, Jean Marie
Shield, Judith
Siemen, Patrricia
Simmons, Laura
44 Smith, Joseph Margaret
Soher, Mary
Spear, Lois
Stechschulte, Mary Agnes
Steihm, Marie Claudia
Sullivan, Julie
Tindel, Mary
Van Aken, Jane Anne
Vath, Loyola
Villemure, Paul James
Waldron, Agnes Patrice
Walsh, Mary Jean
Walsh, Thomas Mary
Weber, Genevieve
Wright, Francis Joseph
Zemmin, William Anne
Series II: General Congressional records
Box Title
45 Mission and History
History
Accountability reports
Adrian Dominican Motherhouse, Adrian MI
Adrian Dominican Motherhouse Archives: outline of records and files
Adrian Dominican Sisters: Biographical notes
Adrian Dominican Sisters: Congregational Record Book
46 Adrian Dominican Sisters: Directory
Adrian Dominican Associates
Catholic Colleges, non Dominican
Dominican Charisma
Dominicans
Dominican Colleges, general
Dominican Colleges Colloquium
47 Dominican Colleges, Siena Heights University
Dominican Colleges, St. Dominic College
Dominican Symposium, 2002-04
Neylan Commission, 1981-2000
48 Recruitment material
Works of the Congregation
Works of the Congregation: Edmonds, WA
Works of the Congregation: West Palm Beach, Fl.
Works of the Congregation: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Works of the Congregation: Dominican High, Detroit, MI
Newspaper Clippings
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, n.d.
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research, some restrictions may apply
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P. Revised by Laura Boloix and Ximena Valdivia, 2012
Preferred Citation: Records of Adrian Dominican Congregation, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
Early Faculty, 1940s
Faculty 1940s
Barry Alumnae 1950s
Nursing Capping Ceremony 1957
Biology 1959
Natural Health Science, 1962
Fine Arts, 1960s
