More information about the collections can be found on the library's Study Aids page. https://eguides.barry.edu/BarryLawLibraryHome/StudyAids
To create an account on West Academic please use your Barry email. https://eguides.barry.edu/ld.php?content_id=62841113
To create an account on Aspen Learning Library (Strategies and Tactics) please use your Barry email. https://aspenlearninglibrary.com
Your username is the information in your email address prior to @law.barry.edu. For example, my username would be kwilson if my email were kwilson@law.barry.edu.
The temporary password is Temp2025! You can change the password at any time after you gain access by going into your profile.
Clearing the Last Hurdle
by
Clearing the Last Hurdle: Mapping Success on the Bar Exam is designed as a comprehensive textbook for a for-credit bar preparation course. This all-inclusive textbook includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) topics and all Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) topics and is also easily adaptable for state-specific jurisdictions. New to the Third Edition: All-new essay questions (with score sheets) Improved mind maps including estates and future interests and search and seizure
Bar Exam Survival
by
This brief, witty book gives examinees a real taste of what the bar exam experience feels like, from the first day of bar prep through the exam days themselves. Michael Stockman provides examples from his own experience taking the NY and MA bar exams in 2010 and 2011. The author shares strategies he devised to manage BarBri, the prep courses he took twice, explaining the strategies that worked for him, from how to get organized to specific advice about condensing notes. He offers study tips and practical advice about test days (such as what to bring) and how to manage stress and anxiety. In addition to a chapter for LLM students, there is a chapter for older test takers and those returning to the law.
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE
by
The Seventh Edition of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE has been carefully revised by Steve Emanuel and is full of up-to-date advice on how to analyze Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) questions in all MBE subject areas (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property with Future Interests, and Torts). Steve Emanuel--author of the Emanuel Law Outlines and CrunchTime books in the MBE-subject areas--has passed the bar exam in several states (including New York and California) and worked with law students to prepare them for taking the MBE. New to the Seventh Edition: 30 additional Civil Procedure questions, all recently asked on the MBE and released by examiners, with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel Recently released actual MBE questions in Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts (also with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel) Key features include: Fully explained answers that not only analyze each answer option for each question, but also explain doctrines or rules that are necessary for answering the question and that you may not have encountered since your first year in law school Detailed advice on how to handle MBE questions in each of the MBE subject areas Step-by-step strategies for analyzing different question types Tips about how subtle differences in wording can change the meaning of an answer Strategies for "rewording" questions in your mind to make them easier to analyze Over 550 questions in the MBE topics (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property and Future Interests, and Torts) that were asked on past MBEs A complete MBE-style 200-question practice exam with detailed answers
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE 2
by
A comprehensive resource created in the successful style of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2, Third Edition provides over 375 additional questions to help you prepare for the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE). Success on the MBE can often influence whether you pass or fail the Bar Exam. Understanding the issues of law tested on the exam and learning how the exam questions are written to test your understanding of the law are essential skills for success. With Steve Emanuel's comprehensive explanations of why one answer choice is the best answer and why the other choices are not, Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2 helps you gain the ability to select the best answer with certainty. New to the Third Edition: A new section on Civil Procedure with questions and detailed answers written by Steve Emanuel Many new questions in Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts; all are actual past MBE questions, with detailed answers written by Steve Emanuel Key features include: Over 375 additional questions and answers not found in Strategies & Tactics for the MBE, Seventh Edition Detailed, step-by-step explanations for each of the four answer choices in each question written by Steve Emanuel, Editor-in- Chief of the Emanuel Law Outlines--the outlines that got you through law school Questions organized by subject matter subtopics, so you can easily locate questions on the topics on which you need to focus Actual Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts questions asked on past Multistate Bar Exams; plus Civil Procedure questions in MBE-format, written by Steve Emanuel
Strategies and Tactics for the MPRE
by
Optimize your ability to pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE)! Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE is filled with questions released from the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE). Thorough explanations of the correct and incorrect answers provide you with the analyses you need to master the MPRE. Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE features: Basic information about the MPRE and what to expect A recap of important terminology you will need to know Expert advice on how to avoid common mistakes and spot tricky questions 156 NCBE-released questions from past MPRE exams, all with answers In-depth, detailed answers to every question that explain not only why the correct answer is correct, but why the other choices are not Advice on how to benefit the most from the practice exam questions A detailed strategy for approaching the exam and logical rules to use to deconstruct each question
Strategies and Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method
by
Strategies & Tactics for the FINZ Multistate Method, Fifth Edition, is an indispensable tool for both law school exams and the Multistate Bar Exam. It features more than 1200 multiple-choice questions and detailed answers unavailable elsewhere. Students will benefit from: More than 1200 multiple-choice questions and answers: Each question contains a sophisticated and intricate fact pattern that tests your ability to pull out the essential facts and tie them to the rules and theories you've learned in class. The answers not only explain the reasoning behind the correct choice, but also why the other choices are incorrect. Coverage of first-year subjects: Questions and detailed answers for each first-year course--Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law (including Criminal Procedure), Property (including Future Interests), and Torts--as well as the upper-year subject of Evidence. Supplemental questions for your bar review: Every question is written in the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) style for school exams or MBE preparation and complies with the latest MBE formats. If you're taking a bar review course, you still need Strategies & Tactics for the Finz Multistate Method because the questions are written in the MBE style and format, but are not actual released exam questions, so we guarantee you've never seen these questions before in your MBE review materials. Special section on how to handle MBE-style questions: The book includes an in-depth guide, "Strategies & Tactics--Playing the MBE Game to Win," on handling the MBE and MBE-style multiple-choice questions--how to break the question down to the essential facts, how to recognize the legal issues, how to avoid the examiners' traps and pitfalls, and how to pick the right answer and avoid being misled by the wrong answers. Complete MBE-style practice exam: The book comes with a complete 200-question practice exam, with detailed answers that explain the reasoning behind the correct choice and why each of the other choices is incorrect.
The Complete Bar Writer
by
The Complete Bar Writer teaches readers how to prepare for the Multistate Performance Test and the Multistate Essay Exam (and similar bar performance tests and essay exams). Readers learn how to transfer the legal writing knowledge that they learned in law school to the bar exam, and how to build upon that foundation with skills specific to bar exam success. The book also fills gaps in readers' knowledge by teaching legal writing, analysis, and reading--and how to do all of those things under pressure. These skills are useful lawyering skills that readers can use after test day. As readers prepare for the bar exam, they will learn how to approach any MPT problem, no matter what kind of document they're assigned to write; how to evaluate their own practice exams and carry that knowledge forward to do better on their next ones; how to prepare for test day; and how to prepare for things that might go wrong. The Complete Bar Writer meets readers where they are with their legal writing knowledge and ensures they have the skills they need on bar exam day.
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam
by
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam offers a comprehensive approach to studying for (and passing) the bar exam. Couched in neuroscience and Zen principles of focus, discipline, awareness, balance, and simplicity, the book provides guidance for the best daily practices for uplifting your mind, body, and spirit during the rigors of studying. A central theme is harnessing a Zen mindset to stay motivated and mentally sharp. In addition to lifestyle and mindset, the book also offers specific, practical advice for maximizing scores on the essay, MBE, and MPT portions of the bar exam. The book outlines specific organizational/formatting tips for how to write effective (and efficient) essays under bar exam time constraints. The book is ideal for adoption for any law school bar preparation course (or Academic Support Program), providing many exercises, examples, and model answers applicable to any state's bar exam.
Pass the Bar!
by
Pass the Bar! provides a comprehensive overview of the pre-bar review, bar review, and bar exam process. The authors demystify the bar exam process and take readers through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Readers are given specific information about what to do during the year before their bar exams; checklists, exercises, and reflection questions; tips for studying and completing practice questions; and sample exam questions and answers to maximize their likelihood of bar exam success. The book has been designed with several uses in mind: As the text for a for-credit law school bar preparation course; As a supplemental text for an upper-level doctrinal course, allowing professors to build students' bar study skills in the context of learning a bar-tested subject; As a text for non-credit bar preparation workshops; or For students' independent study. The authors' recommendations are grounded in educational and psychological research as well as their personal experiences in designing programs and preparing thousands of students to pass their bar exams. Readers will find the text user-friendly and its recommendations straightforward and practical. "Once in awhile the perfect book comes along at the perfect time. Pass the Bar! is just such a book, arriving at the ideal time to help law students clear the last hurdle of the race they began when they started law school. The authors' approach is both logical and powerful, and would immediately enhance any bar taker's likelihood of success. I will happily recommend the book to generations of students as they prepare to cross the finish line of their challenging bar exam race." -- Professor Ruth Ann McKinney, Director of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, The University of North Carolina School of Law
Bar Exam Success
by
Think of this book as your personal trainer at the academic gym. Bar Exam Success: A Comprehensive Guide will provide the support and guidance students need, equipping you with the deliberate, affirmative steps to ensure bar passage. Fostering a growth mindset, this handbook will change what you do and how you think. It approaches the bar exam as an opportunity to learn critical lawyering skills, not predetermined by the LSAT, first year grades, or any other single indicator. Based on Sarah J. Berman's decades of experience teaching in law schools and bar review, this new edition includes updates that focus on the recent adoption of the UBE by many jurisdictions. It will teach you how to: - Develop a plan for success- Get and use quality expert help- Maximize your schedule for productivity- Prepare with practice tests- Eliminate distractions and embrace success- And more
Bar Exam Success
by
The bar exam is not just another test, and this book is not just another set of instructions. This book is your personal success guide. Whether taking a UBE or a state-specific bar, students need to not only master the material but to train and prepare for one of the toughest high-stakes exam experiences around. This book will more than prepare you to pass the bar exam; the author's words will motivate you to do what it takes to succeed in law school, on the bar exam, and in the legal profession. Particular chapters will help you to:
* Reduce Distractions, Increase Focus, and Manage and Protect Your Time
* Employ Powerfully Effective Learning Strategies
* Develop and Stick to Your Schedule
* Practice and Hone Skills for Success on MBEs, Essays, and MPTs
* Cope with Stress and Pressure, and Help Your Friends and Family to Help You Succeed
* Enhance your Positive Growth Mindset, Personal Wellness, and Sense of Belonging
* Transition with Confidence from Law Student to Professional
This book is written from the perspective of a bar mentor, your "trainer at the academic gym," with concrete advice on how to handle the many challenges facing today's law students. There are dozens of self-assessments, tools to help you face very real challenges on every level, and to organize and prepare to pass the bar exam. The book includes trustworthy advice and powerful personal examples from the author's decades of helping students pass bar exams nationwide. The book is uplifting and positive, while harnessing cutting-edge, scientific learning theories.
The time spent studying for the bar exam that so many people dread and think of as a hazing ritual can be an empowering stage, if you approach it with the right attitude, get yourself equipped for success, and then work really hard. The author calls legal education "a power tool for social change." Passing the bar and becoming licensed will allow you to wield that tool and find opportunities throughout your professional life to do well and to do good.
Whether you are first in your law school class or last, this book will help you achieve your goals and set you on a lifelong cycle of success.
"Professor Berman has written an illuminating and helpful book, drawing on cutting-edge social science, that teaches students how to master the bar exam and flourish in law school. Her insights are shaped by years of experience and advances in psychological and learning sciences. If law students read this excellent book, perhaps as early as when arriving to law school, they will develop skills they can exercise and master to achieve success."
-Victor D. Quintanilla, Indiana University Bicentennial Professor; Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law; Adjunct Professor, Indiana University Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
"From helpful study tips to suggestions for minimizing distractions, this book is an excellent resource to guide students through the challenges of bar study. Professor Berman is a seasoned professional, who condenses years of experience into easy to read and follow advice, perfect for anyone serious about passing the bar exam."
-Paula Manning, Professor Western State College of Law
"Wanting to shape your destiny, this book is a must-read coaching manual with action plans to boot. Professor Berman takes the mystery out of bar prep, providing hosts of inspirational tips, courageous learning strategies, and concrete wisdom for overcoming the oft-expressed intimidation that so easily immobilizes many from achieving bar exam success--success that is well within the grasp of all law school graduates aspiring to serve as professional attorneys--none be barred. This book is not meant to be read but lived. Navigate your path through this book and you will be well on your way to passing your bar exam."
-Scott Johns, Professor of the Practice of Law and Director of the DU Bar Success Program, Denver University Sturm College of Law
"This is a must-read book for law students and law professors. It provides practical suggestions so that students can be successful in law school, law practice, and the bar exam. It is fun to read and can be used by students on their own or in a class. The self-assessment tools are particularly valuable. As a law professor, I look forward to using this valuable resource with my students."
-Jane Bloom Grise, Director of Academic Enhancement and Assistant Professor of Legal Writing, University of Kentucky College of Law
"This book is a fantastic resource. It offers an approach, starting in 1L, that can help varied types of students develop critical skills needed for success on the bar exam with a mix of skill-building and metacognitive strategies that also help students succeed in law school. I am excited to incorporate these strategies in my 1L and 2L classes."
-Nicole R. Lefton, Assistant Professor of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Director of Academic Support and Bar Preparation, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University
"I love the book and use it as a personal reference to coach my students, especially those who are first generation. It captures high expectations for success and normalizes the sense of inadequacy that they all feel and fear. It helps them to acknowledge it and push past it in both substance and tone. The underlying expectation is that the reader will pass the bar exam. When they read it, it keeps them tethered to their goals and their practical strategies amidst the panic, because it builds in intentional recursiveness."
-Kimberly Williams D'Haene, Director of Law Academic Success, Georgia State University College of Law
"If I could give only one resource to someone who wants to increase the likelihood of passing the bar exam, it would be this book. Author Sara Berman tells the truth about the challenge of bar preparation while showing the taker how--through preparation, planning, and practice--success is achievable. Rather than scaring them, the book encourages bar takers. That, itself, is why I will refer all my students to it."
-Benjamin V. Madison III, Professor and Director of the Bar Passage Initiatives, Regent University School of Law
"This book is like having a personal trainer help you prepare for the bar exam. It is a doubt-busting, confidence-boosting, interactive tour guide on the road to success. Sara Berman gives practical advice on motivation, time management, financial planning, and more. This book both explains and motivates--students will be wise to take Berman's advice, encouragement, and support."
-Catherine (Cassie) Christopher, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Bar Success, Texas Tech University School of Law
"Along with the excellent strategies on studying and test taking, Professor Berman illuminates the unspoken barrier to success, namely the student's mindset. This guide aptly describes the various barriers encountered by students and suggests interventions to maintain a positive and healthy outlook for success."
-Rodney Fong, Associate Dean for Academic Achievement, Institutional Assessment & Bar Preparation, and Clinical Professor of Law, The University of Illinois at Chicago John Marshall Law School
The Essential Rules for Bar Exam Success
by
This book presents a method for teaching students to pass the bar that is easy to learn and implement. Topics covered include learning to study actively rather than passively; choosing study partners who will help, not hinder, your studying; learning to think, read, and write critically; dissecting multistate exam questions; coping with pressure; making the most of the weeks before the bar exam; and preparing for the day of the exam.
Exam Pro - Bar Prep Workbook
by
Based on the premises that the bar exam essay is often different in style, length, and scoring from the law school exam essay and that organization and issue identification can best be achieved by a structured, strategic approach rather than "winging it," this book uses frameworks as a guide to writing a top-notch essay. The opportunity to practice techniques allows students to further improve their writing.
Acing the Bar Exam
by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
The Bar Exam in a Nutshell
by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
A Short and Happy Guide to Conquering the MBE
by
The Multistate Bar Exam is intimidating because it covers a wide array of subjects and because it is all multiple-choice questions. If you feel overwhelmed by all the subjects and the nuances of them and have never liked multiple-choice questions, particularly in law school, then this book is precisely what you need. Practice multiple-choice questions can serve two purposes. The more common is that they allow you to have some sense of how you are doing--an assessment function. The less common but far more useful function is that they provide a structured study method for review of material. Few students use them that way, but those who do reap great rewards. This small volume will show you how to use practice multiple-choice questions to greatest advantage. That involves changing the way you approach those questions. Conquering the MBE gives you a step-by-step process for attacking every multiple-choice question in every MBE subject, with lots of examples. You will discover that most questions offer review of four concepts rather than just one, and they do so on concrete contexts, not in the abstract. You will also discover that when you do this step-by-step review, one answer, and only one answer, is correct. The authors have tutored hundreds of law students in using the method presented. It works.
A Short and Happy Guide to the Bar Exam's Multistate Essay Examination (MEE)
by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.