LibGuides: HIS 150 The Meaning of History: Scholarly Journal Databases

Databases

Databases are electronic indexes or catalogs of published books, journals, journal articles, conference papers, data, etc. The Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library subscribes to nearly 150 electronic databases.

On the Barry Library Homepage, you will find in the center column Databases by Subject and Databases by Title.

Databases by Subject: Here is a list of categories that will help you choose the best databases for your area of study.

Databases by Subject-History & Political Science

Databases by Title: Here you will find links and descriptions of our databases in alphabetical order.

Select the first letter in the database name (ex: "E" for ERIC).
Scroll through the complete list of databases.

When using Google Scholar through the Library's authentication, the results will indicate whether the item is available at Barry or through open access.

Frequently Used History Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business periodicals and news sources covering scholarly research, traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
General reference source for full-text articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and 12,000 full text publications, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award- Winning online reference resources features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest History Vault: American Indians and American West This link opens in a new window
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Gale History

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.
American Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

Open Access Sources

American Historical Association
The American Historical Association is the largest professional organization serving historians in all fields and all professions. The AHA is a trusted voice advocating for history education, the professional work of historians, and the critical role of historical thinking in public life.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
Library of Congress-History Research Guides
222 research guides covering numerous historical events.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
New York Public Library
The New York Public Library has been an essential provider of free books, information, ideas, and education for all New Yorkers for more than 125 years.
more...less...
Founded in 1895, NYPL is the nation’s largest public library system, featuring 92 locations across the Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island, including our world-renowned research centers at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
World History Encyclopedia
We help people across the globe gain a deeper, fundamental knowledge of our interconnected human past in order to create curious, open-minded, and tolerant societies in the future.
more...less...
Studying history helps us gain a more nuanced understanding of the world we live in today. Our knowledge and interpretation of history shape how we define ourselves as nations and as cultures, and it influences how we see and interact with other cultures.