Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Monsignor William Barry Collection

Msgr. William Barry Collection

I. Overview

Title: Monsignor William Barry Collection

Date: 1945-2001

Location: 01/11-21

Extent: 11 boxes (5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical Note

Born in West Clare, Ireland, in 1886, The Right Reverend Monsignor William Barry studied for the priesthood in Baltimore, Maryland and was ordained for the Diocese of St. Augustine in 1910. After serving in St. Augustine, Jacksonville, and Deland, Father Barry went to Miami Beach in 1926 to organize a new parish which became St. Patrick’s Church.

In May 1937, he became a Monsignor and in 1953 was awarded the title of Prothonotary Apostolic. In 1966, he resigned as pastor of St. Patrick’s parish after serving more than forty years.

Among the founders of Barry College, Monsignor William Barry maintained the longest and closest relationship with the institution.

Monsignor Barry died shortly after midnight on November 17, 1967.

 

III. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer Dept. of History, 1985

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Monsignor William Barry Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida 

Container List

Series I: Biographical information

Box     Folder title

 01/11  Early years/Family and Childhood

            Biography, 1951

            Personal legal documents/Memorial cards, 1910-1967

            Interview with Father David Page, 1964

            Retirement, 1966

            Death, 1967 Nov. 17

            Letter of Condolence from Apostolic Delegate, 1967 Dec.

            Congressional Record/note from Rep. C. Pepper, 1967 Dec.

            Eulogy by Father C. Burke, 1967 Dec.

            Obituaries in The Miami Herald and The Voice, 1967

            Portraits, printed photograph, 1960

            Group portraits: Smathers re-election event, 1962

            Newspaper clippings, 1922-1966

                       

Series II: Priesthood

Box     Folder title

01/12    Appointment records, 1936-1953

            Ordination and early ministry, 1911-1926

            Barry College, 1940, 1949

            Casa Francesca for working women

            Inter-American Seminars

            Pan American Day

            The Sign seminar

            St. Francis Hospital

            St. Francis de Sales Church/St. Joseph Church

            St. Patrick Church/Ministry to armed forces

            St. Patrick Parish history/Miami Herald article, 2001

            St. Patrick Parish twentieth anniversary celebration program

            St. Patrick Parish seventy-fifth anniversary celebration

            St. Patrick Parish/notable students

            St. Patrick Parish/Al Capone, Jr., 1965

            St. Patrick Parish, William Burbridge last will and testament

            St. Patrick Parish Ward vs. Miami Herald

            St. Patrick Parish Msgr. James J. Walsh, successor, 1966

            St. Patrick Parish Msgr. Francis J. Delaney, Associate

 

Series III: Speeches/addresses

Box     Folder title

1/12     Homilies/Speeches

            Address to Pan American League

            Eulogy for Carl Fisher

            St. Patrick’s Day speech

 

Series IV: Awards & Tributes

Box     Folder title

01/13   Tributes

            Silver Jubilee, 1935

            Congressional tribute, 1945

            Honorary degree from Notre Dame University, 1946

            Spiritual Bouquet from Dominican Sisters, 1960

            Golden Jubilee tributes, 1960

            Golden Jubilee Commemoration Program

            Golden Jubilee newspaper clippings

            Carl Hoffman. One Man’s Thoughts, 1965

            80th birthday celebration, 08/23/66

            Honorary degree from Barry College, 1966

            Congressional tribute, 1967

            Testimonial Dinner program, 02/26/67

            Sister Marie Carol’s tribute: “Parable of Two Islands”

            Street named for Monsignor Barry, 1982

01/14   Florida Catholic, Jan. 26, 1940

            Proclamation by Surfside mayor on Msgr. Barry’s golden jubilee

            Proclamation by Bal Harbor on Msgr. Barry‘s golden jubilee

            Presentation of Honorary Life Guard at Atlantic City, NJ

01/15   Eulogy in Miami News, 11/22/67

            Miami Herald article about honorary degree, 11/16/66

            Eulogy in The Reporter, 11/23/67

            Holy Name Society Calendar, 1975, with biography of Msgr.

            Hourglass, 11/14/75, 35th anniversary of Barry College

            Testimonial from Miami Beach Lions Club

            Angelicus, memorial issue, 12/01/67

01/16   Bay Harbor Islands testimonial, 1960 March 14

            Optimist International testimonial, undated, framed, wrapped

01/17   Golden Jubilee plaque from Am. Legion Auxiliary, 03/17/60

            Golden Jubilee plaque from City of Miami Beach, 03/17/60

01/18   Golden Jubilee Resolution by Miami Beach Rotary Club, 03/08/60

            Golden Jubilee plaque, Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce, 1960

            Plaque,United Faiths of Florida, 1965

            Honorary Degree, Barry College, Nov. 12, 1966

            Certificate of Membership, Clipper Club, 01/29/59

            Proclamation of Gratitude, Adrian Dominicans, 06/21/53

            Testimonial of Appreciation from Barry College, 11/15/65

 

Series V: Correspondence

Box     Folder title

01/19   Correspondence with Barry College, 1940’s

            Correspondence with Barry College, 1960’s

            Correspondence, assorted, 1942-1966

            Correspondence from Bishop Hurley, 1953-1959            

            Correspondence from Cardinal Dougherty

            Correspondence from Irish Ambassador J. Heireann, 1953

            Correspondence from Nuncio in Cuba, 1944

            Correspondence from servicemen, 1940’s  

            Correspondence re embargo to Spain, 1938-39

            Correspondence re Inter-American Institute, 1942-1945

            Correspondence re Latin America, 1942

            Correspondence/Public relations, 1960’s

            Correspondence to America magazine, 1946

            Correspondence to St. Francis Hospital, 1941

 

Series VI: Memorabilia

Box     Folder title

01/20   Personal Mass Cloth

            Breviary, 4vol. (Latin)

            Imitation of Christ

            Wallet

            Guest Books for Barry Room (2)

            Guest Book (52nd anniversary brunch)

01/21   Hand-lettered Golden Jubilee card from Barry College, 1960

            Golden Jubilee Commemoration booklets, 1960

 

Series VII: Others

Box     Folder title

01/21   The World’s Communist Party

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website