Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Barry Family Collection

History of Barry University, 01

Barry Family Collection

I. Overview

Title: Barry Family Collection

Date: 1899-

Location: 01/8-10

Extent: 3 boxes (2 linear ft.)

Language: English with books in Irish

 

II. Biographical Note

Irish family from Lauragh, Inagh, West Clare. Catherine Dixon and Michael Shannon Barry were parents of 18 children, among whom were three of the Barry College founders, Bishop Patrick Barry, Monsignor William Barry and Mother Gerald Barry OP.

 

III. The Collection

 The collection includes correspondence, clippings, genealogy, memorabilia, and biographical information of various Barry family members. Included are also the family coat of arms and the family history.

Memorabilia includes commemorative medallions, memorial cards, a cap that belonged to Mrs. Catherine Barry, and a series of books related to the use of the Irish language, dated from 1899 through 1905.

 

IV. Container list

 Box     Title

01/08   Ireland/St. Patrick

            Barry Family Demographics

            Barry Family Emblem and History

            Barry Family newspaper clippings

            Barry Family Photographs

            Dominic Barry—cousin

            Frank and James Barry--brothers

            Gerald A. Barry--nephew

            Joseph Barry--brother

            Mother Gerald Barry

Nieces and other relatives

            Patrick Barry—bishop

            Relatives Grogan and O’Regan

            Susan Barry--sister

            Thomas Barry--cousin

            William Barry--monsignor

            William Barry--Monsignor, 80th birthday

            William Barry--son of Gerald

01/09   Barry Family Book

            Barry Family Genealogy

            Joanne Barry McCourt correspondence

            Newspaper clippings

            Pictures

            Random information

01/10   Collection of medallions

            Crocheted cap of Mrs. Catherine Barry

            Gaelic books

            Letter of bishop to school children

            Memorial cards

 

V. Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Barry Family Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website