Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Annals of Barry College

History of Barry University, 01

Annals

Annals are chronological records, taken down successively, registering from day to day the events of each year. They are original, and are to be consulted as sources at first hand.

 

Source

Van der Essen, L. (1907). Ecclesiastical Annals. In The Catholic Encyclopedia. New York: Robert Appleton Company. Retrieved October 28, 2011 from New Advent: http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/01531b.htm
 

 

Annals of Barry College sisters' community, 1939-1970

I. Overview

Title: Annals of Barry College sisters' community, 1939-1970

Date: 1939-1970

Location: 01/01

Extent: 1 boxes (0.5 linear ft.)

Creator: Adrian Dominican Sisters

Language: English

 

II. Historical note:

These annals consist of manuscript items that chronologically narrate significant events of the early history of the college, year by year. They were written and compiled by the Adrian Dominican Sisters clearly following a custom developed in the Middle Ages - to record events in their lives, feast days observed, trips undertaken, guests received, arrivals, departures, illnesses, meetings, hurricanes, parties, and college affairs that involved the sisters and the college community. The early annals give detailed information, but the later annals tend to be less narrative in form, listing briefly those items of interest to the sisters.

 

III. The Collection

The bulk of the records includes these manuscript annals written from 1939 to 1970, and also contains items appended to the annals between 1939 and 1948, such as clippings, correspondence, letter of admission, leaflets, information about the Diamond Jubilee of the Adrian Dominican Congregation, lists of early religious vocations and converts among Barry College students, and several notes on Barry's early history collected by Sister Rita Schaefer.

 

IV. Container List

Box      Folder Title

01/01   Annals of Barry College, 1939-48

01/01   Annals of Barry College, 1948-52

01/01   Annals of Barry College, 1952-57

01/01   Annals of Barry College, 1957-60

01/01   Annals of Barry College, 1960-63

01/01  Annals of Campus House Community, 1957-70

01/01  Adrian Dominican Diamond Jubilee, 1967

01/01   Religious Vocations and Converts from Barry College, 1940-67

       

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer President's Office, May 5, 1993

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Annals of Barry College sisters' community, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website