When is the Library open?
The Library building's regular hours are:
Monday-Thursday 8:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 8:00am - 6:00pm
Sunday - 10:00am - 10:00pm
The Library changes its hours during exams, the weeks between semesters, and holidays, so check our Hours page for schedule changes during those times. Of course, our online services are accessible 24/7.
How do I access the Library's online resources/databases?
While the Library has a great print collection, the vast majority of the Library's research resources is provided online, meaning you don't have to be in the Library to use the Library. To access these online resources from:
On-campus: Go straight to the Law Library website,
http://eguides.barry.edu/BarryLawLibraryHome (we recommend bookmarking it), then Research Databases.
Off-campus: Go to https://go.barry.edu and log in with your username and password. Use the same credentials as when you are on campus. Choose Law school Library from the menu tile, then Research Databases
How can I find out where something is in the Library?
You can use the Library catalog to search for Library materials. If the item is digital, the catalog will link to it. If the item is physical, the catalog will provide a call number that starts with a letter. Library books are arranged in call number order, starting with A on the third floor and moving to Z on the first floor. There are also some special collections, such as the Reserve collection behind the Circulation desk and the Reference collection in the stacks closest to the Reference Desk on the first floor.
How do I check out materials from the Library?
Your student ID card is also your Library card. To check out a book, go to the Circulation Desk on the first floor. The Circulation Assistant will scan the book and your card and tell you when the book is due. Many books on the Library shelves can be checked out for 30 days. Books in the Reserve collection, located behind the Circulation Desk, can be checked out for four hours. Please be aware that books that are part of large sets or sets with removable pages cannot be borrowed.
The Library catalog is your guide to what can be checked out and what must be used in the Library. If it says LIB USE ONLY then it cannot leave the Library.
Does the Library have study aids?
The Library has many popular study aids. The newest study aids are on reserve behind the Circulation Desk and may be checked out for four hours at a time. Older study aids might be found in the Library stacks on the first floor and can be checked out for 30 days. The Law Library's Study Aids brochure describes some of the study aids that are available.
How do I print, copy, or scan in the Library?
The Law Library's printers allow copying or scanning from an original source, and printing from any computer, USB flash drive, or mobile device. Send your print from your laptop or tablet to the EFI Print Me printer. You will get an e-mail with a code that lets you retrieve the printout at any of the Library's printers. Prints or copies cost 5¢ per black and white page and 15¢ per color page. Printers take credit or debit cards. Scanning is free. Learn more details.
Are there group study areas in the Library?
The Library has several group study rooms on the second and third floors that are equipped with white boards and markers. They are unlocked and available to be reserved online. Go to the Law Library's study room reservation page. Groups can also use the tables on the Library first floor for meetings, as the first floor is not a quiet zone.
Does the Library have computers for student use?
There are many desktop computers available to students located throughout the Library. Students can also bring their own laptops or tablets and use Barry's wifi in the Law Library. In either case, you would use your Barry username and password to log in.
How do I register for LexisNexis?
LexisNexis registration codes are distributed during Orientation. Go to http://www.lexisnexis.com/lawschool and sign in with your temporary ID and password. Once you have signed in, create your permanent ID and password, as well as your personal profile.
How do I register for Westlaw?
Westlaw registration codes are distributed during Orientation. Go to http://lawschool.westlaw.com and click on Register password now!, then click the link next to Registering for the First Time? Follow the instructions on the next few screens to complete the registration process.
How do I find and add my professor's TWEN course?
You must first register for Westlaw (above). Log into Westlaw and find the tab on the homepage labeled TWEN. Click the tab, then click the Add Course button. Check the boxes corresponding to the courses you want to add and click Submit.
How do I register for Bloomberg Law?
Bloomberg Law registration codes are distributed during orientation. Go to https://profile.bna.com/bloomberglaw-activate. Fill in the registration form and click Submit. You will receive an email with a verification link. Once you have clicked that, you will receive a second email with access information.
How do I register for CALI?
CALI registration codes are distributed during orientation. Go to http://www.cali.org and click on Register. Fill out the information and click Create New Account. Ask a Law Library staff member if you need the Authorization Code.
How do I keep up with Law Library news?
Barry Law Library has a blog where we share news about the Library, research tips, and inspirational messages. Click Follow to receive email notifications of new blog posts. You can also choose to Like the Barry Law Library Facebook page or follow the Library on Instagram.