Light of Flames Leadership Award 1977
Methods of Giving, 1985
Div. of Institutional Advancement Program 2002
Fund Campaign 2001
I. Overview
Title: Division of Institutional Advancement Records
Dates: 1964-
Creator: The Division
Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201
Record Group ID: 21 / 1-7
Extent: 20 boxes (10 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
In 1964 the Development Division was created as a significant resource of active support to increase viability to the College.
A Board of Governors for Development was created on Feb. 1979, with the purpose of serving as the primary support structure for the Development Division. The group was expected to become very active in generating ideas and in personal involvement toward strengthening the base of Barry College. Responsibilities and objectives of the Board included [1] to serve as an advisory group to the Vice President for Development in consideration of development planning and projects relative to programs, events, and fund raising activities, [2] to participate in fostering and developing new sources of corporate and individual financial support, and [3] to recommend ways and means to assist Barry College in attaining its short and long range objectives.
On June 1, 1987 the Development Division was reorganized into the Division of Institutional Advancement which consisted of the following departments: Alumni Affairs, Records, Capital Campaign and University Relations.
The Mission of IA was to support the mission of Barry University through all forms of development to (1) enhance quality academics by increasing funds available for programs, scholarships, endowments, capital and operating expenditures, (2) to add to the caring environment by establishing a spirit of service to administrators, faculty, staff, alumni an students and (3) to provide community service to Greater Miami by active participation by members of the division in appropriate organizations.
As for today, the Division consists of: Alumni Relations and Annual Giving, Advancement Services, Conference and Events Services, External Affairs and Government Relations, Grants and Sponsored Programs, Foundation Relations, and Marketing & Communications.
III. The Collection
This collection documents the history and administration of the Division of Institutional Advancement. Records include administrative files, publications, information about the departments in the Division, and memorabilia. Included in Events Services are files of President’s Dinner from 1972-1989 and Starlight Balls, from 1978-1988, but most important, Founders Day since 1942 to the present,
Photograph and audiovisual materials related to Events can be found in Barry University Photograph Collection and Audiovisual Collection.
The collection is organized into two series
Series I: The Division
Series II: Departments
Sub-Series A: Advancement Services
Sub-Series B: Grants and Sponsored Programs
Sub-Series C: University Relations
Sub-Series D: Events Services
IV. Container List
Series I: The Division
Box Folder title
1A General
Board of Governors for Development
Promotional Publications
Annual Report, 1980-1981
Annual Report 1981-1982
Annual Report 1982-1983
Annual Report 1983-1984
Annual Report 1984-1985
Annual Report 1985-1986
Annual Report 1986-1987
Annual Report 1987-1988
Annual Report 1988-1989
Annual Report 1989-1990
Annual Report 1990-1991
Annual Report 1991-1992
Annual Report 1991-1992
1B Annual Report 1992-93
Annual Report 1993-94
Annual Report 1994-95
Annual Report 1995-96
Annual Report 1996-97
Annual Report 1997-98
Annual Report 1998-99
Annual Report 1999-2000
Annual Report 2000-2001
Annual Report 2001-2002
1C Annual Report 2002-2003
Annual Report 2003-2004
Annual Report 2004-2005
Quarterly Report March 26, 2001
Special reports 1974-1980
Series II: Departments
Sub-Series A: Advancement Services
Box Folder title
2A Annual Fund, 1996-
Capital Campaign 1978-82
Capital Campaign 1985
Capital Campaign 1990’s
Capital Campaign, 3rd Millennium Challenge 2001
Gifts in Kind 1973–1976
Giving, 1985-
Kostka Trust, 1986
Living Endowment Fund, 1966-1969
Restricted Funds Catalog 1973–1975
Other Giving Opportunities, 1980-
Sub-Series B: Grants and Sponsored Programs
3A Grants 1974-1975
Grants Program Office, 1996
Sub-Series C: University Relations
University Relations, 1988-
Points of Pride, 2007-
Sub-Series D: Events Services (More deatils on separate tab Events Services)
4A Special Events Dept., 1991-
Special Events: flyers & programs, 1986-
Calendar of Activities, 1973-
Chapel Renovation/Honor Tip O’Neill, 1992
Christmas Party, 1992
Col. Uri Dromi, Israeli vis-à-vis the Palestinians 1988
Common Wealth Institute 2012
Education Day 1987-1995
Education Day 1996-
Faith and Freedom Award
See Founders Ball
4B Golf Tournaments, 1980-2000
Golf Tournaments, 2001-
Hardball MSNBC Program at Barry 2003 (Chris Matthews)
Human Spirit, 2011
ICUF scholarships- programs, 1999-2000
Jewish-Christian Relations Rosenhaus Lecture Series, 1980-1984
Laudare Medal, 1974
Light of Flames Leadership Award, 1976-1977
Orange Bowl Coronation Ball Omni Hotel 1988-1990
4C President’s Dinner, 1972-1985
4D President’s Dinner 1986-1989
Reassessing America’s Global Role, 1996
Sr. Jeanne O’Laughlin’s Golden Jubilee 1996
South Florida Unites- One Peace at a Time 1987
5A Starlight Balls: history, 2003
Starlight Balls, 1978-1988
6A The Founders- Biographical information
Founders’ Day Annals Excerpts
Founders’ Day Speeches 1942-1967
Founders Day Addresses, 1953-1976
Founders’ Day Hymn
Founders Day Programs & publicity
Founders’ Day 1941-1960
6B Founders Day 1961-1980
Founders Day 1980 Interfaith Convocation
6C Founders Day 1981-1985
Founders Week 1986-1987
Founders Day 1988
6D Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Exhibit Committee, 1989
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Jubilee Committee Meetings
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Various Committee Meetings
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Schedule of Activities
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Special Correspondence
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Special Programs/activities 1989
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Special Programs/activities 1990
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Bulletin
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Commemorative Calendar
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Edition of The Flame
6E Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Dominican Sisters Poster
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Miami Shores Proclamation
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Miami Shores Chamber of Commerce Newsletter
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Miscellaneous
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Newspaper Clippings
Founders Week Golden Jubilee: Southern Bell Telephone Book Cover
6F Founders Week 1991-1997
6G Founders Week 1998-2003
6H Founders Week 2004-
7A Founders Ball 1989-2001
7B Founders Ball 2002-2010
Faith and Freedom Award, 2011-
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, Special Events Unit; 1997, 2001; President’s Office, 2010; Institutional Advancement, 2002.
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research, some restrictions may apply
Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2001-2009. Revised and updated by Ximena Valdivia with assistance of student Andreana Morency, 2013
Preferred Citation: Division of Institutional Advancement Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
