Skip to main content

Norma C. Lang Papers: Dr. Norma C. Lang Papers

Overview of the Collection

Title: Norma C. Lang Papers

Dates: 1950-2001

Creator: Norma Lang

Extent: 6 boxes (3 linear ft.)

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: ASC0006

Language: English

Biographical note

Dr. Norma C. Lang, B.A., M.S.W., PH.D (Toronto, Ontario, May 28, 1927 - June 26, 2012). Professor Emerita of the Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto, founding member of the Association for the advancement of Social Work with Groups (AASWG) and the Toronto Region Group Workers Network (TRGN). Born in Hamilton to Harold H. Lang and Caroline E. Howard Lang, she was educated at Memorial School, Delta Collegiate Institute and MCMaster University. Her graduate degrees were from the University of Toronto Faculty of Social Work and Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland.

Her practice experience involved work with several at-risk populations and with emotionally disturbed children and her teaching expertise concerned social work with groups, qualitative research, and non-deliberative forms of social work practice. She had a special interest in the development of practice theory for social work with groups.

 Source: http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/thestar/obituary.aspx?pid=158259292#fbLoggedOut

For more information please go to:

Nancy E. Sullivan , Ellen Sue Mesbur , Lynne Mitchell , Patricia Moffat & Barbara Muskat (2013): Remembering Norma (In Memory of Norma C. Lang, 1927–2012), Social Work With Groups, 36:1, 5-12. Available at:

The Collection

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Gift, November 2012

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by:  Student Khalifa Antoine, 2012. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2013

Preferred Citation: Norma C. Lang Papers, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives