Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

11 Nursing: Elizabeth Burgoon Collection

Images

    Health topic notes, 1916

 

 

 

Personal notebook, 1908-1912

Elizabeth Burgoon Collection

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Elizabeth Burgoon Collection

Dates: 1908-

Location: ASC-0006

Extent: 2 boxes (1.25 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical/Historical note

Mary Elizabeth Burgoon was born on December 25, 1901 in Brookville, Pennsylvania, where she spent her youth. The oldest child of Charles P. and Elizabeth Burgoon, she had four brothers (Joe, Charles, Vernon, and Philip) and one sister (Agness). Mary never used her first name and preferred Elizabeth or “Betty”, and in the 1930s changed the spelling of her last name to Burgoyne, a variation of the name Burgoon. She received her nurses' training at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Erie, Pennsylvania and graduated on October 14, 1919.

She worked at various hospitals and as a private nurse in Jamestown, Pa., Columbus and Cleveland, Oh., Chicago, Ill., Atlanta, Ga., Miami Beach and Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. In addition to nursing, she also owned a couple of houses which she rented, and played the stock market as well as the ponies to supplement her income. In the early 1940s she left the nursing profession and opened a flower shop in Ft. Lauderdale.

Betty Burgoon died in Winter Haven, Florida on April 3, 1995.

Source: Wade Hall Collection of American Letters - Mary Elizabeth Burgoon (Burgoyne) Papers, 1915-1963. University of Kentucky Libraries. Special Collections. Available online at: http://libguides.uky.edu/content.php?pid=264633&sid=2185056

 

III. The Collection

The collection contains Elizabeth Burgoon’s manuscript notes and published articles on a variety of health topics from her nurse training program, included are also nurse records from the Brookville Hospital and the St. Vincent Hospital Association.

 

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

1          Personal notebook, 1908-1912

[Diploma] Registered Nurse / Pennsylvania State Board Examiners 

            for Registration of Nurses, 1920

Diploma, Training School for Nurses, St. Vincent Hospital, Erie, PA,

            1919

2          Health topic notes, n.d.

Health topic notes, 1916

Health topic notes, 1917

Health topic notes, 1919

Health topic notes: Colonic Therapy, 1931

Health topic notes: Hygiene, n.d.

Health topic notes: Massage, n.d.

Health topic notes: Practice of medicine, n.d.

Feeding the children, n.d.

Food Requirements / P. MacDonnald, M. Pittman, 1918

In: Extension Circular / Pennsylvania State College, no. 65

National College of Massage and Physio-Therapy. Catalogue, 1929?

United States Food Leaflet, n.d.

Brookville Hospital: Nurse Records, 1933-34

St. Vincent Hospital: Nurse Records, 1920-1928

St. Vincent Hospital Association. Report, 1919 Dec.

St. Vincent Hospital Association. Annual Report, 1928

St. Vincent Hospital Association. Annual Report, 1959 May

St. Vincent Hospital: The Lamp, St. Vincent’s nurses record, 1923-24

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, Ms. Kelley Eddington, Division of Nursing, 2011 June

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research, some restrictions may apply

Processed by: Ximena Valdivia, 2012.

Preferred Citation: Elizabeth Burgoon Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives