Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

11 Nursing: School/Division of Nursing

Images

 First Anniversary of School of Nursing, 1954

          Nursing activities, 1955

      Capping ceremony, 1957

 

     Class of 1957

School/Division of Nursing Records, 1956

I. Overview of the collection

Title: School of Nursing Records, 1956-

Creator: Barry University. School of Nursing

Location: 11 / 1-7

Extent: 7 boxes (3.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

The Barry University School of Nursing has its origin in the Barry College Nursing department which was established in Sept. 1953, with Sister Helen Margaret McGinley as Director of the Department and Sister Dorothy Browne as Academic Dean of Barry College. The first class to graduate with the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree was in 1957. The National League for Nursing team visited the college in 1961 and accreditation was granted to the Department of Nursing in 1962. Continuing accreditation has been granted since then. In 1974, with the reorganization of Barry College, the Nursing Department became the School of Nursing and Dr. Judith Balcerski was named Dean. Major curriculum evaluation and revision led to continuing education programs, changes in the core curriculum, and eventually to different options, and higher degrees.

In 2002, the School of Nursing celebrated "50 Years of Excellence." Dr. Balcerski retired from Barry University in June, 2002, and was succeeded by Dr. Pegge Bell. In July, 2008, Dr. Bell was named Dean of the College of Health Sciences which included all the nursing programs and all the programs except biology from the former School of Natural and Health Sciences.

III. The Collection

This collection includes a detailed history of the School of Nursing, early correspondence between Barry College and the National League for Nursing, 1956-78; and numerous self-study reports. There are numerous leaflets and brochures describing the curriculum for the various degree programs in nursing. There are folders with information about nursing faculty, St. Francis-Barry Nursing Center, Caritas Award, and photographs of prominent Barry nursing alumnae. There is information about the Nurse Practitioner program, the Health Fairs, and the calendar entitled "Watercolor Images of Barry University," (in memory of Kathleen Papes, recently deceased member of the nursing faculty).

 

IV. Container List

Series A: General information

Box     Title

1          History of the School of Nursing

Alumni, general, 1982-

            Alumni Correspondence, 1972-78

            Alumnae at Dominican Hospital in Santa Cruz, CA

Alumni Reunion 1957-1997: souvenir booklet 40 anniversary, 1997

            Nursing Faculty

Nursing Faculty: Sr. Judith A. Balcerski, Dean

Nursing Faculty: Dr. Pegge Bell, Dean, 2002-2012

Nursing Students, 1964-

Nursing Student policy manual, 1999-00

Publicity & Clippings

Sister De Chantal, Sisters of Charity, Mount St. Joseph, Ohio, 1957

St. Francis-Barry Nursing Center, 1988-1990

 

Series B: Accreditation Files

Box     Title

2          Report for accreditation, 1956 July

Evaluation Report, 1961 May

National League for Nursing: correspondence, 1956-1978

Accreditation Visit, 1961 Nov.

Self-Evaluation report, 1970

            Self-Study Report, 1976 Jan.

            Accreditation visit, 1976 Feb.

3          Self-Study Report, 1984 Jan.

Self Study Report, 1991 Dec.

            Self-Study Report, 1991 Dec.

            Self-Study Report. Appendix, 1991 Dec.

Self Study Report, 1998 Aug.

 

Series C: Administrative Files

Box     Title

4          Agreement with Jackson Memorial Hospital, 1953-58

Agreement with Mercy Hospital, 1953-1966

Agreement with St. Francis Hospital, 1953-65

Agreement with St. Vincent Hospital, 1944-45

Agreement with Variety Children’s Hospital, 1957-67

Correspondence, 1948-1973

Florida State Board of Health: correspondence, 1958-67

Florida  State Board of Nursing: correspondence, 1955-57

Florida State Board of Nursing: correspondence, 1958-60

Florida State Board of Nursing: correspondence, 1961-67

5          Florida State Board of Nursing: correspondence, 1968-78

Florida State Board of Nursing: survey reports, 1954-71

Florida State Board of Nursing: survey reports, 1972

Florida State Board of Nursing: survey reports, 1973

Florida State Board of Nursing: survey reports, 1974

Florida State Board of Nursing: survey reports, 1975     

Florida State Board of Nursing: semi-annual reports, 1955-62

Florida State Board of Nursing: semi-annual reports, 1963-69

Florida State Board of Nursing: recommendations, 1954-1971

Grants and Awards, 2003-

            Reports, 1975-81

 

Series D: Academic Programs

Box     Title

6          BSN

            MSN

            Accelerated option

Health Services Administration

Nurse Practitioner Program, 2005-

            Primary care Program

            PhD Nursing Program

            Flyers

            Leaflets

           

Series E: Events

7          Events, general

50 years of excellence, 2002

            Caritas Award

Convocation Ceremony, 1974-88

Convocation Ceremony, 1989-91

Convocation Ceremony, 1992-

Health Fairs, 2002

Pinning, 1974-

University Jubilee celebration, 1988-1989

 

Series F: Publications

Box     Title

7          Contact, 1992-2002

Calendar Watercolor Images of Barry University, 2008

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, President’s Office; July 15, 1993

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: School of Nursing Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives