Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

13 School of Social Work: School of Social Work

School of Social Work Records, 13

I. Overview of the Collection

 

Title: School of Social Work Records

Dates: 1964-

Location: 13 / 1-4

Extent: 4 boxes (2 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

 

 

II. Historical note

The first School of Social Service in South Florida was established at Barry College in the fall of 1965. Barry was the only institution willing to assume the responsibility for developing the graduate program. With the support of local agencies, Barry immediately began working toward implementation. In 1965, Dr. Henry McGinnis was appointed the first dean. Following extensive planning, faculty recruitment, feasibility studies, and fund raising, the Barry University School of Social Work admitted 33 graduate students in the fall, 1966 and awarded 23 Master of Social Work degrees in May, 1968. The MSW program was accredited by the Council of Social Work Education in June, 1969 and has been continuously accredited since. A PhD program was initiated in 1982 and the first doctorates were awarded in May, 1986. In 1972, Dr. John Riley became the second dean of the school. In 1984 the Barry University Board of Trustees named the school the Ellen Whiteside McDonnell School of Social Work to honor a benefactor for her significant contributions to social welfare programs in the state and to Barry University.

As the school has grown and matured, its contributions to the community have increased. It has become a major source of professional social workers for human service agencies, particularly in south Florida. In 1977, a study found that almost half of the professional social workers in Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties were Barry graduates.

 

III. The Collection

The Collection includes administrative files, publicity, publications and materials related to events and academic programs from the School of Social Work.

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

Administrative Files

1          General Information

            Annual Reports 1975–81

History of School of Social Work 1964-90

            Govt. Relations (Harvey Abrams) Correspondence 1980-81

Govt. Relations (Harvey Abrams) Roster – Dade County Legislative Delegation

Govt. Relations (Harvey Abrams) Survey Sheets

Abrams Harvey Contract; Miscellaneous

Govt. Relations (Harvey Abrams) Expenses

Dr. Jack Riley’s Letter to Legislature January 1981

Policy & Procedure Manual 1993

Policies & Procedures Manual

            Self-Study Report, 1975

Summary Report, 1978

            Self Study Report: vol. 1-3, 1994

2         Status Report in Barry Mark, Nov. 1980

Miscellaneous

 

Academic Files

2          Academic files, general

            Applications

Curriculum Development, 1969-70

PhD Program 1981-1986

Academy for Better Communities

 

Events

3          Events, general, 1994-         

            Twenty-fifth Anniversary Celebration

             Fiftieth Anniversary, 2016

Annual Alumni Conferences

 

Publicity

3          Brochure, 1995

Bulletins; Leaflets

Flyers, Brochures

Faculty, staff and student news

Newspaper clippings, 1994

Pictorial Booklets

Publications

3          Bulletins 1965–68; 1971–73; 1974-76

            Social Work Compass, 2008-2010

4          South Florida Homelessness Studies of 1989

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, School of Social Work, 2001 Aug.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia with the assistance of student Luis Khawly, 2012

Preferred Citation: School of Social Work Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives