I. Overview of the Collection
Title: Chemistry Club Records
Dates: 1993-
Creator: Barry University Chemistry Club
Location: 27/
Extent: 3 boxes (3 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
The Chemistry Club is an organization composed of three different groups: members of the Gamma Sigma Epsilon National Chemistry Honor Society, members of the American Chemical Society Student Affiliates, and students who have an interest in chemistry. Initiation into the Gamma Sigma Epsilon National Chemistry Honor Society requires a minimum of 16 credit hours of chemistry with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Chemistry majors and minors can join the American Chemical Society as Student Affiliates for an annual membership fee of about $20. All members of the Barry Chemical Club also pay membership of $5 per year. Aside from educational activities the chemistry club also participates in social activities such as picnics, volleyball games etc. with other chemistry clubs in the South Florida area. The Chemistry club is also a service-oriented organization.
The Barry Chemistry Club, under the guidance of Dr. George Fisher who joined the faculty in 1989, was named one of 29 "Outstanding Chapters" nationwide by the American Chemical society.
The annual Science Olympiad sponsored by the physical sciences department is a six-hour competition usually held in April, and is open to south Florida high school students. The fifth annual Olympiad received special publicity in The Miami Herald, April 20, 2006.
III. The Collection
The collection contains reports, correspondence, publications, files on events, photographs and audiovisual materials.
The collection is organized into six series: Administrative Files, Events, Publications, Photographs, Audiovisual materials and Scrapbooks.
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, Dr. George Fisher, 2011 June 30
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Some restrictions may apply
Processed by: Kadeem Hodge, Sept.-Oct. 2012. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, Oct. 2012.
Preferred Citation: Chemistry Club Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
Series A: Administrative Files
Chemistry Club 2009-2010
Chemistry Club 2012-2015
ACS Program Information
ACS Student Affiliates 1993-1994
Activity/Fundraiser/Community Service
Article Clippings
Certificates
Community Interaction Grant 2001-2009
Community Interaction Grant 2010-2011
Community Interaction Grant 2011-2012
Community Interaction Grant 2013-2015
Community Interactions-Student Affiliates Grant 2007-2008
Community Interactions-Student Affiliates Grant 2008-2009
Community Interactions-Student Affiliates Grant 2009-2010
Council on Social Work Education (Correspondence) – 1979
Council on Social Work Education (Correspondence) - 1987
Demonstration Check-List
Elementary School Listing
Emails
Evaluation forms on Shows
Flyers
Follow-up Forms (Name of schools, number of students, etc)
Grants/Scholarship/Research/Jobs
High School Teacher Forms
Innovative Activities Grant Application Form
Lakeview Elementary Thank You Letters (Magic Show) – 2002
MARC/MIRT/MBRS
Minutes/Agenda
SAACS Report 1994-1995
SAACS Report 1995-1999
SAACS Report 1999-2000
SAACS Report 2000-2001
SAACS Report 2001-2002
SAACS Report 2002-2003
SAACS Report 2003-2004
SAACS Report 2004-2005
SAACS Report 2005-2006
SAACS Report 2006-2007
SAACS Report 2007-2008
SAACS Report 2008-2009
SOC 2005-2006
Series B: Events
Chemistry Club Seminar Schedule 2002-2003
Chemistry Magic Shows – 1997
Chemistry Magic Shows – 1998
Chemistry Magic Shows – 1999
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2000
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2001
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2002
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2003
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2004
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2007
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2008
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2009
Chemistry Magic Shows – 2010
Chemistry Magic Shows - 2013
Chemistry Magic Show Forms – 2006
Series C: Publications
The Catalyst – 1998 - 2002
Chemistry Club Bulletin Board
Chemistry Club Newsletter
Series D: Photographs
American Chemical Society National Meeting (Dallas), 1998
American Chemical Society National Meeting (San Diego), 2001
American Chemical Society National Meeting (San Diego) (Chemistry Club disc 1), 2001
American Chemical Society National Meeting (Orlando), 2002 [DVD]
American Chemical Society National Meeting (Orlando), 2002
American Chemical Society Anaheim Meeting (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Bake Sale (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Barry National Chemistry Week & Mole Day (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
Chemistry Club / Gamma Sigma Epsilon, 1998-1999
Chemistry Club Habitat for Humanities (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
Chemistry Club Magic Shows (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
Chemistry Club Christmas Gifts (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Chemistry Club Poster Photos (Chemistry Club disc 1)
Chemistry Magic Shows - 1997
Chemistry Magic Shows – 1998
Chemistry Magic Shows – 1999
Chemistry Magic Shows, 1999
Department Awards (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Department Lunch (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
Department Lunch (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Earth Day (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
End of the Semester Luncheon and Awards, 2001
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Convention, 2001
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 1993
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 1996
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 1997
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 1998
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 1999
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 2000
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 2000
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 2001
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Initiation, 2003
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Convention, 2001
Gamma Sigma Initiation (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
National Chemistry Week (Family Day), 1999
National Chemistry Week, 2001
National Chemistry Week (Magic Shows, Gamma Sigma Initiation), 2000
Relay for Life (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Science Olympiad (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
Seminars (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
South Florida American Chemical Society Awards, 2002
South Florida American Chemical Society Awards, 2003
South Florida American Chemical Society Awards (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2004
South Florida American Chemical Society Picnic, 1998
St. Rose Chemistry, 2000
Sr. Jeanne (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2001
Teacher Workshop (Chemistry Club disc 2), 2003
Unidentified Photographs
Series E: Audio-Visual Materials
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Awards Program, 1996
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Awards Program, 1998
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Awards Program, 1999
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Award Program, 1997
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Award Program, 1995
American Chemical Society Affiliates Program (Education Division), 2004-2005
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Chapters Award Program, n.d.
Chemistry Club Magic Show – “Chemistry Demonstrations” Polymers and Paper Chromatography
Series F: Scrapbooks
Chemistry Club, 1995-96
Chemistry Club, 1996-97
Gamma Sigma Epsilon, 1993
Gamma Sigma Epsilon, 1994-95
