Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

8 School of Business: School of Business

Records of D. Inez Andreas School of Business, 08

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Records of D. Inez Andreas School of Business

Dates: 1966--

Creator: School of Business

Location: 08 / 1-9

Extent: 9 boxes (4.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

Beginning in 1940, Barry College offered a two-year secretarial program for students not wishing to pursue a degree. A certificate was awarded upon completion of the two-year program. A four-year program with a major in business was offered beginning in 1967, with a choice of office administration, economics, accounting, market-management, or business education, as the area of concentration. In 1970, Sister Judith Shield became chair of the Department of Business and throughout the decade of the 70s the areas of concentration were expanded into major fields of study. The School of Business was established in 1978, with Dr. Wm. Morrell as Dean. Dr. Ray S. House became Dean in 1980 and developed the Executive MBA (XMBA) program. When Dr. Lloyd D. Elgart became Dean of the School of Business in 1990 he introduced an XMBA program in Kingston, Jamaica.

Between November 1978 and May 1981, the Barry College School of Business sponsored three conferences relating to the economic development of South Florida with Professor Edward A. Tomeski as general chairman. The conferences were held in Wiegand Hall on the Barry campus. Over a hundred prominent businessmen attended the first conference, November 28, 1978. Dwayne Andreas, CEO of Archer-Daniels Midland Company, was the keynote speaker. The second conference was held on March 6, 1980, with such prominent speakers as Carter Randall, syndicated business columnist for the Miami Herald, Merrett R. Stierheim, Dade County Manager; and Gerald Lewis, Comptroller, State of Florida. Among the topics were energy, transportation, architecture, and finance and investment. The conference was sponsored by the Burger King Corporation. The third and final conference was held on March 12, 1981, with the theme, "South Florida as an International Business Center." This conference was co-sponsored by the Economic Society of South Florida. Senator David Lyle Boren of Oklahoma was the honored guest speaker.

Barry University initiated an Executive MBA program in Kingston, Jamaica, in January, 1991, when Dr. Lloyd D. Elgart was Dean of Barry's School of Business and Dr. Ron Lennon was the Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in that school. The first graduation for the Jamaica program took place on December 13, 1992, and the last one was on May 22, 1999, when the program was terminated. Each year, invitations for the graduations were sent to prominent Jamaican citizens, even to the Prime Minister; and frequently outstanding civic leaders such as the Minister of Education and the Minister of Finance were the keynote speakers. The Archbishop of Kingston was usually asked to give the invocation.

 

III. The Collection

This collection includes a brief history of the Andreas School of Business, annual reports, policy manual of the School of Business, self-studies of the business department, papers of Sister Judith Shield on departmental concerns (1970-75), an advising manual used in 1986, information about the MBA and MS in Community Counseling program at Homestead Air Force Base, background material and numerous records from the XMBA program and copies of the School of Business Newsletter and The Leader.

The collection also includes programs from the business conferences of 1978, 1980, and 1981. Correspondence between the School of Business and Sister Trinita, President of Barry College, clarifying details of the conferences, lists of attendees and speakers, and newspaper clippings.

Records of the Jamaica XMBA program include correspondence on graduation exercises, publicity, academic calendars and course descriptions. Other records related to the Jamaica XMBA can be found at the University Archives within the Barry University Photograph Collection and the university yearbook collection under The Jamaica Barry Executive.

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, President's Office, 2002-2008 .

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2010

Preferred Citation: Records of D. Inez Andreas School of Business, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives