Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

6 School of Adult and Continuing Education: Records of School of ACE

Records of the School of Adult and Continuing Education, 06

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Records of the School of Adult and Continuing Education

Date: 1970-

Creator: Barry University. School of Adult and Continuing Education

Location: 06/01-11

Extent: 11 boxes (3.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

The Barry University School of Adult and Continuing Education had its beginnings with negotiations between Barry College and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in 1970 when Sister Dorothy Browne was president of Barry and Jack Hunt was president of Embry-Riddle. A contract organizing the Miami Education Consortium (MEC) was signed in June, 1971. Al McCullough became the director of the consortium. In July, 1974, MEC entered into an agreement with Homestead Air Force Base and began offering classes there. In that year also college credit for professional work experience was extended to working adults, and the basic portfolio format was introduced.

In July, 1974, the Department of Continuing Education was formed in response to nation-wide demand for such programs "to expand the educational mission of the institution to the adult population through non-traditional and extension offerings." Increased enrollment and gradual expansion of courses led to the formation of the School of Adult and Continuing Education in 1982 with Sister Linda Bevilacqua, who had been Director of the BEC (Barry Early Credit) program, as Dean of the School. A small legal program for working adults had begun in 1977, initially administered by the Dean. In 1985, Dr. Martha Gurwit was hired to direct the program, followed by Robin Spellman in 1986, and Marni Pilafian Lee in 1988. In 1999, Eric Olsen became the director.

In 1983, Craig Probst became Director of Academic Services for ACE and Dr. Patricia LaBahn was appointed as Director of BEC. In this year MEC was officially dissolved (December 31).

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes general information on the School of Adult and Continuing Education, academic and administrative files, and publications  

 

IV. Container list:

Series I: School of ACE

Box     Title

1          Philosophy of the School of ACE

            History of ACE, 1970-1191

Events, 2004

Faculty News, 2002-

            Portfolio preparation material, 1988

            Miscellaneous, 2006-

 

Series II: Academic Files

1          Academic Programs, 1990-

Emergency Medical Tech, 2008

Fifty Plus program, 2009-

Legal Assistant Institute

Non-Credit Programs, 1995

            Older Adult Opportunity Center, 2004-

2-3       Class Schedules, 1983-2002

4          Miami Consortium Education

 

Series III: Administrative Files

5          Adjunct Faculty Manual, 1991-199   

5          Annual Reports, 1971-1981

5-10     Annual reports, 1988-1997

 

 Series IV: Publications 

11        ACE Newsletter, 1984-2005

Cheers, Newsletter of the Fifty Plus program, 2010-

The Frank J. Rooney School of Adult and Continuing Education [Bulletin], 1987-1999

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, n.d.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of the School of Adult and Continuing Education, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

 

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives