Blue Eagle
Backwash of the frontier, 1959
Description of Midewiwin ritual, n.d.
Title: Alfred Irving Hallowell Native American Collection
Date: 1909-1969
Extent: 1 linear ft.
Creators:
Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201
ID: ASC0004
Abstract: The collection contains correspondence, personal papers, manuscripts and pamphlets by Hallowell, works by colleagues, reports from field work, and subject files with emphasis on folklore and American Indian art.
Language:English
Alfred Irving (“Pete”) Hallowell, 1892-1974 was an American anthropologist, archaeologist and businessman. He was born in Philadelphia, PA, and attended the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania receiving his B.S. degree in 1914, his A.M. in 1920, and his Ph.D. in anthropology in 1924. From 1927 through 1963 he was a professor of anthropology at the University of Pennsylvania excepting 1944 through 1947 when he taught the subject at Northwestern University. Hallowell's main field of study was Native Americans. He also held the presidency of the American Anthropological Association for a period of time.
Personal Information
Bibliography
Clippings
Correspondence, 1925, 1931
Field work (trips)
Reports, 1947-1948
Works by Hallowell (manuscripts & pamphlets)
Backwash of the frontier: the impact of the Indian on American Culture, 1959
Definition of anthropology
Description of Midewiwin ritual (I)
Impact of the American Indian on American Culture, 1957
Midewiwin, 1933
The nature and function of property as a human [i.e. social] institution, 1943
Sweet grass
Works by others (Pamphlets)
America’s Indian statues by Marion E. Gridley, 1966
Cacao by B.E. Dahlgren, 1923
Contacts between Iroquois herbalism and colonial medicine by William N. Fenton, 1942
Food plants of the North American Indians by Elias Yanovski, 1936
Indian corn by James B. McNair, 1930
Indian corn culture in Michigan by Wilbert B. Hinsdale, 1927
Maize-our heritage from the Indian by J.H. Kempton, 1937
Report on the Academic teaching of anthropology by Franz Boas, 1919
The spiritual legacy of the American Indian by Joseph Epes brown, 1953
The story of food plants by B.E. Dahlgren, 1940
A study of Delaware Indian medicine practice and folk beliefs by Gladys Tantaquidgeon, 1942
Use of tobacco among North American Indians by Ralph Linton, 1924
Use of tobacco in Mexico and South America by J. alden Mason, 1924
World crops derived from the Indians by Edwin F. Walker, 1953
Subject files
Indians Implements
Indians in art
American Indian portraits by Winold Reiss, 1927?
Forty & five: an exhibit of paintings of Indians by Montana artists, past and present, 1964
Four American Indian songs by Charles Wakefield Cadman, 1909
Graphic arts of the Alaskan Eskimo by Dorothy Jean Ray, 1969
The noble savage: the American Indian in art, 1958
Plains Indian painting, 1958?
We shake hands, 1958
The works of Charles Marion Rusell, 1864-1926, n.d.
Indians in Cartoons (clippings), 1950-1960
Memorabilia
Blackfoot Indians of Glacier National Park: Portraits (col. Prints), 1958
Blue Eagle (Cards)
Music before Columbus (phonograph record)
Publicity (photograph)
Acquisition Information:
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Ximena Valdivia, 2011
Preferred Citation: Alfred Irving Hallowell American Indian Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections
