Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philip A. Hamersmith Collection: Philip A. Hamersmith Collection

Overview of the Collection

Title: Philip A. Hamersmith Collection

Extent: 9 archival boxes (4 linear feet)

Creators: Philip Hamersmith and Jacqueline Basha Hamersmith

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

ID: ASC0002

Abstract: The collection consists of materials collected by Philip and Jacqueline Hamersmith as a result of their work as consultants at Philip Hamersmith & Associates, consulting firm which assists clients in the areas of government relations, campaign management, advertising, and public relations.

Language of Material: Materials in English with some clippings and art boards in Spanish

Biographical Note

Philip A. Hamersmith, 1946-1999, public relations consultant and journalist, had an extensive background in media relations, government relations, and political campaign communications.

Prior to starting his own company, Hamersmith served as an Administrative assistant to former Miami Mayor Maurice Ferre, where his major responsibilities included press relations, speechwriting, and directing all communications strategy and development.

After leaving the Mayor’s office, Hamersmith joined the United Way, where he wrote and produced promotional public service announcements and films. Shortly thereafter, he was hired by Beber, Silverstein & Partners advertising agency as an Account Executive. In 1978, he became a partner in the public relations firms of P&R Associates, specializing in campaign management, media development and government relations. In 1986, Hamersmith formed his own company, Philip Hamersmith, Inc. & Associates.

He produced radio, television and print advertising campaigns for both political and private sector clients. In addition, his expertise in government enabled him to successfully represent a variety of organizations and private sector clients. As one of South Florida’s best known political consultants, Hamersmith was  guest speaker for the New Miami Group, the University of Miami School of Communications, the Advertising Federation, the American Marketing Association, Channels 10, 7 and 4, and WIOD-AM, among other associations.

 

The Collection

Scope and Content Note

The bulk of the collection consists primarily of documents related to political campaign management, advertising and public relations, such as contracts, correspondence, posters, clippings and TV commercials.

The collection also includes Hamersmith's biographical and personal papers, as well as materials that document Hamersmith responsibilities and duties as Administrative Assistant to Mayor Maurice Ferre, from 1975-1976

 

Series Description

Series I: Personal papers, 1971-1998

This series contains brief biographical information, correspondence from prominent political figures, clippings and memorabilia about or by Philip A. Hamersmith. It is arranged in chronological order by type of document

 

Series II: Political campaign management, 1975-2004

This series contains files with documents related to political campaign management - such as contracts, correspondence, or paraphernalia- posters, clippings, “art works”, and TV commercials. It is arranged in alphabetical order by candidate’s name or title within three sub-series 

Sub-series A: Personal names (by candidate)

Sub-series B: Ballot measures

Sub-series C: Congresses & Conferences

 

Series III: Maurice Ferre Papers, 1975-1976

This series documents the work done by Philip A. Hamersmith while serving as an Administrative Assistant to former Miami Mayor Ferre. It includes correspondence, clippings, press releases, and speeches. It is arranged in chronological order by type of document

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information:Gift of JacquelineBasha Hamersmith, 2009

Access Restrictions:This collection is open for research

Processed by:Sister Dorothy Jehle and Ximena Valdivia, 2010

Preferred Citation: PhilipA. Hamersmith Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections,Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives