Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLA 2021 Conference Presentation: Digitization and Discoverability...Two Steps Forward / Part 3: Discovery

The FLA 2021 Conference Presentation: Digitization and Discoverability...Two Steps Forward examines Digitization, Metadata and Discovery. This Guide features readings on Discovery and Discoverability.

Florida Library Association 2021 Conference: Lead Inclusively

The FLA 2021 Conference Presentation Digitization and Discoverability…Two Steps Forward includes Digitization (Veronica Gonzalez, FIU), Metadata (Ximena Valdivia, FIU) and Discovery (Maria Gonzalez, Barry University).      

This guide Part 3: Discovery features readings on Discovery and Discoverability.                                                                 

View the complete presentation guide Digitization and Discoverability…Two Steps Forward

FLA 2021 Conference: Lead Inclusively 

FLA 2021 Conference Schedule of Events

Maria Gonzalez, Reference and Instruction Librarian                                                            Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library magonzalez@barry.edu                                                                                          

Subjects: Art, Art History, Book Arts, Dance, Graphic Design, Humanities, Liberal Studies - Literature & Humanities, Liberal Studies - Psychology, Music, Orientation, Photography, Theatre

DISCOVERY

Discovery: Related Readings

Bland, R. N., & Stoffan, M. A. (2008). Returning classification to the catalog. Information Technology & Libraries, 27(3), 55–60. https://doi.org/10.6017/ital.v27i3.3248

Bossaller, J. S., & Moulaison Sandy, H. (2017). Documenting the conversation: A systematic review of library discovery layers. College & Research Libraries, 78(5), 602–619. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.78.5.602

Chercourt, M., & Marshall, L. (2013). Making keywords work: Connecting patrons to resources through enhanced bibliographic records. Technical Services Quarterly, 30(3), 285-295. https://doi.org/10.1080/07317131.2013.785786

Erway, R. (2012). Increasing access to special collections. LIBER Quarterly, 21(2), 294-307.

Georgas, H. (2013). Google vs. the library: Student preferences and perceptions when doing research using Google and a federated search tool. Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 13(2), 165–185. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2013.0011

Georgas, H. (2014). Google vs. the library (Part II): Student search patterns and behaviors when using Google and a federated search tool. Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 14(4), 503–532. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2014.0034

Georgas, H. (2015). Google vs. the library (Part III): Assessing the quality of sources found by undergraduates. Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 15(1), 133–161. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2015.0012

Gross, T., Taylor, A. G., & Joudrey, D. N. (2015). Still a lot to lose: The role of controlled vocabulary in keyword searching. Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, 53(1), 1–39. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2014.917447

Hamlett, A., & Georgas, H. (2019). In the wake of discovery: Student perceptions, integration, and instructional design. Journal of Web Librarianship, 13(3), 230–245. https://doi.org/10.1080/19322909.2019.1598919

Lember, H., Lipkin, S., & Lee, R. J. (2013). Radical cataloging: From words to action. Urban Library Journal, 19(1), 1–8.

Limas, B. (2020). The evolving information needs and behaviors of undergraduates. SLIS Student Research Journal, 10(2), 21–30.

McCollough, A. (2017). Does it make a sound: Open access monographs discoverable in library catalogs? Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 17(1), 179–194. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2017.0010

Mi, J., & Weng, C. (2008). Revitalizing the library OPAC: interface, searching, and display challenges. Information Technology & Libraries, 27(1), 5–22.

Oh, K., & Colón-Aguirre, M. (2019). A comparative study of perceptions and use of Google Scholar and academic library discovery systems. College & Research Libraries, 80(6), 876–891. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.80.6.876

DISCOVERABILITY

Discoverability: Related Readings

Caudle, D. M., & Schmitz, C. M. (2008). Drawing reference librarians into the fold. In K. R. Roberto (Ed.), Radical cataloging: Essays at the front (pp. 251-254). McFarland & Company.

Crookendale, C.-M. (2020). The art school and the library: A case study exploring disciplinary differences. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 39(1), 114–135. https://doi.org/10.1086/709816

Gabbard, P. (2016). Insights and overview: The ARLIS/NA museum e-book publishing survey. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 35(2), 281–295. https://doi.org/10.1086/688728

Garcia, L., & Peterson, A. (2017). Who invited the librarian? Studio critiques as a site of information literacy education. Art Libraries Journal, 42(2), 73-79. https://doi.org/10.1017/alj.2017.6

Greer, K. (2016). Undergraduate studio art information use: A multi-school citation analysis. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 35(2), 230–240. https://doi.org/10.1086/688725

Hubbard, M. (2020). The importance of being discovered: The Werner Von Boltenstern Shanghai Photograph and Negative Collection. Judaica Librarianship, 21, 30–37. https://doi.org/10.14263/jl.v21i.531

Keeran, P., Bowers, J., Crowe, K., & Korfitzen, K. (2019). Using visual materials to teach information literacy outside the arts curriculum. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 38(1), 141–158. https://doi.org/10.1086/702894

McCann, L., & Hughes, M. P. (2019). Proactive collection care: Leveraging use data in a non-circulating art library. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 38(1), 122–140. https://doi.org/10.1086/703510

McDermott, I. (2020). It’s about time: Open educational resources and the arts. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 39(1), 1–11. https://doi.org/10.1086/709796

Ress, S. (2015). Special collections: Improving access and usability. Reference Librarian, 56(1), 52–58. https://doi.org/10.1080/02763877.2015.968757

Salisbury, M. (2018). Out of the stacks and into the studios: A creative approach to information literacy. Art Libraries Journal, 43(4), 169–174. https://doi.org/10.1017/alj.2018.27

Sauceda, J. (2018). Arranging “The Library of Babel”: Special collections, undergraduate research, and librarian engagement. Portal: Libraries & the Academy, 18(2), 391–408. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2018.0021

Tam, M. (2017). Improving access and “unhiding” the special collections. Serials Librarian, 73(2), 179–185. https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2017.1329178

Thompson, D. S. (2020). Recommended reads for visual literacy: An online bibliography of articles, books, and archival materials. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 39(2), 239–246.  https://doi.org/10.1086/711151

Walker, S., & Poggiali, J. (2020). Lost but not forgotten? An inventory and use analysis of an undergraduate art book collection. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 39(1), 101–113. https://doi.org/10.1086/709817