LibGuides: College of Arts &amp; Sciences-Dept. of Communication: Finding Articles

Communication Databases
Communication-specific databases offered by Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library.

Barry Databases
ALL databases offered by Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library by title.

When using Google Scholar through the Library's authentication, the results will indicate whether the item is available at Barry or through open access.

Recommended databases

Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

ProQuest Communications Moduel
Search full text periodicals on subjects such as communications and more in this ProQuest Research Library module.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.

Legal Databases

Nexis-Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic: is redesigned and improved, full-text database featuring content from news, business and legal sources along with enhanced searching, saving and collaborating features.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
A Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
GPO Federal Digital System This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Search or browse selected essential documents from the president, Congress, the courts, and agencies. Previously called GPO Access.

Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse American newspapers published from 1780-1789 and 1790-1799, as well as Readex Early American Newspapers Series 1, to chronicle the evolution of American culture and daily life from the 18th Century to the recent past.

Florida Digital Newspaper Library
Hosted by the University of Florida, FDNL provides access to the news and history of Florida Newspapers are a state treasure, the historian's and genealogist's best friend, and the community's collective memory. In the world of newspapers, today's news is already history, from the moment the stories are printed.

Miami Herald This link opens in a new window
Search more than 35 years of Florida history with the Miami Herald Collection. Coverage from 1982 through today, including full-color pages, full-text and web-only content.