LibGuides: College of Arts &amp; Sciences-Dept. of Communication: Advertising &amp; Public Relations

Professional Organizations & Associations

Ad Age
Created in 1930 to cover a burgeoning industry with objectivity, accuracy, and fairness, Ad Age continues to be powered by award-winning journalism. Today, Ad Age is a global media brand focusing on curated creativity, data and analysis, people and culture, and innovation and forecasting.
Institute for Public Relations
The Institute for Public Relations is “focused on the science beneath the art of public relations.” The organization’s website provides links to research and education for practitioners, researchers, and educators.
John H. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
The Center, located at Duke University, is one of the country’s outstanding programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing. The website includes links to several of the Hartman Center’s digital advertising projects.
Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)
The PRSSA website provides links to professional development, job opportunities, conferences, and resources for college students interested in becoming PR professionals.
International Public Relations Association
The International Public Relations Association, was established in 1955, and is the leading global network for PR professionals in their personal capacity. IPRA aims to advance trusted communication and the ethical practice of public relations. We do this through networking, our code of conduct and intellectual leadership of the profession.

International Journal of Advertising
Provides a forum for the discussion of important issues & for the interchange of ideas on all aspects of advertising & marketing communications. Both academic & practitioner perspectives are represented.
Journal of Advertising
Provides a public forum that reflects the current understanding of advertising as a process of communication, its role in the changing environment, and the relationships between these and other components of the advertising business and practice.
Journal of Interactive Advertising
Designed to promote our understanding of interactive advertising, marketing & communication in a changing world.
Public Relations Review
Thematic issues devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth; research in brief, book reviews and precis of new books in the fields of public relations, mass communications, organizational communications, and public opinion formation.

The AMA Handbook of Public Relations by Robert L. Dilenschneider Public relations was among the first industries to harness the power of the Internet. As a medium for corporate communications, branding, product information, and more, the Web's value was readily apparent. But the Internet is a double-edged sword whose perils are every bit as important to control. The AMA Handbook of Public Relations is written to help professionals merge their traditional and Web-based campaigns while protecting their clients, companies, and themselves against harmful attention.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780814415269
Publication Date: 2010
Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising by Clow, K.E. & Baack, D.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780789022103
Publication Date: 2005
The PR Professional's Handbook by Caroline Black At a time when rapid changes in communications technology, such as social media, are having a major impact on the way businesses choose to communicate, more and more people are having to understand the principles of modern PR and how they can use it to underpin effective business management. The PR Professional's Handbook offers practical advice and solutions for anyone involved in the public relations function.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780749468439
Publication Date: 2014