Title: Barry History Collection
Location: 01 / 3
Extent: 3.5 linear ft.
II. The Collection
This collection provides easy access to significant information about the early history of Barry College. It is organized into two series: Barry History Sources and Administrative Historical Files.
Barry History Sources contain a wide variety of historical material and outlines of Barry College/University, such as information about the founders, the histories written by Sister Mary Alice Collins and Sister Eileen Rice, copy of the 50 Year Calendar compiled by Sister Eileen Rice for Barry's Golden Anniversary and the article about Barry University included in the book edited by J. Patrick Murphy, CM, Visions and values in Catholic higher education.
Administrative Historical Files include copy of the 1940 charter, copy of correspondence about the beginning of Barry College, enrollment statistics, lists of faculty, Dean's annual reports 1941 and 1942; copy of the special study of Barry College made by SACS in 1947; promotional material in various publications and samples of old forms and stationery.
III. Container list
Series I: Barry History
3a Historical Narratives, 1940s—
The Barry Story: special selection Barry College’s 25 th anniversary
In: The Journal, 1965 Nov. 11
Barry University, 1991
In: Visions and values in Catholic higher education by J. P. Murphy
Barry University: Its Beginnings by Sr. Eileen Rice, 1989
Series II: Administrative files
3b Annual reports, 1941-42
A Case Statement, 1976-77
Charter of Barry College, 1940 (photocopy)
Chart of Administration, 1973
Enrollment Statistics 1940-94
Faculty Members, 1940--
Forms and stationary: Barry College
Forms and stationary: Barry University
SACS special study, 1947
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012
Preferred Citation: Barry History Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida