Skip to Main Content

CINAHL Guide: Searching in CINAHL

CINAHL is a research database that indexes many nursing journals and allows you to search by keyword for articles on your research topic.

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL,  the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is a research database that indexes many nursing journals and allows you to search by keyword for articles on your research topic. CINAHL also provides the full articles for many nursing and allied health journals, providing full articles for more than 520 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes coverage of over 1,200 professional journals in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, with coverage as far back as 1982.

A powerful tool!

Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals.

Easy Access to the Most Authoritative Nursing and Allied Health Literature Available

CINAHL Database provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

In addition, CINAHL Database provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.

A Powerful Research Tool

An essential tool for nursing research, CINAHL Database provides an easy-to-use interface with basic and advanced search features and searchable cited references. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follows the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

Content Includes:

  • More than 6 million records
  • Indexing for more than 5,300 journals
  • 70 full-text journals
  • Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals
  • Author affiliations

CINAHL Video Tutorials:

‚ÄčGetting Started

When doing nursing research, the CINAHL search options can be your best friend. Nursing research is very specialized and there are some great limits available from the Advanced page that can really help you get the articles you need more quickly. For this reason, CINAHL defaults to the Advanced Search page.

Some facts to know: articles can be limited to only those that are peer reviewed, evidence based practice, nurse authors, or select specific criteria to apply to patients, such as age group or gender. Multiple limits can be applied to any search.

Just a few of these limits are available from the result so have to be applied before your search.

What's In It?

CINAHL covers nursing & allied health with hundreds of full text journals and other sources such as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.