It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 111 First Year Composition/Rhetoric: Databases
Databases are online, searchable collections of information resources, such as journal article citations (often with the full-text attached), eBooks, videos, reports, monographs, etc. Find resources about a specific topic by using keywords, subject headings, authors, and more. Use limiters to narrow your results.
Databases provide a descriptive record of an item (journal article, video, book review, etc.). Information about the item is provided, including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, etc. The information provided is called a citation. Sometimes a short summary or abstract of the item is provided as well.
The full text of the item may not always be available in the database you are using. If you need assistance, contact me!
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
-- A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search.
General reference source for full-text scholarly articles.
There is a vast amount of information available on the Internet. However, the Internet is not regulated by any agency, so anyone can post information that may not be reliable. Therefore, it is important to evaluate the information before using it as a source.
The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:
If an article is available in any of the Barry databases, the link Full-Text @ Barry Library will provide access to the full text. If an article is available through another source [PDF], [DOC], or [HTML] will be noted next to the article.
Always evaluate the source and content of any article before including it in your research paper.
Search Google Scholar when you are logged in to the Barry server in order to obtain the full text.
Check out this tutorial for helpful tips on using Google Scholar: