ENG 111: Finding Books

Children and teenagers text, network and twitter online as second nature, but when emails or texts are used to threaten, harass, intimidate or embarrass someone, they can turn from being a source of enjoyment to a source of crippling anxiety and fear. This approachable book is packed with advice, games and activities for groups and individuals to help young people understand what cyberbullying is, how they should behave online and how they can stay safe. The activities range from quizzes and competitions to storyboard games and art activities, and cover issues such as how easily personal information can be forwarded, the risks posed by unknown 'friends' on social networking sites, and how to discuss and deal with bullying issues. They are designed to encourage young people to think about their own behaviour and attitudes and give them the skills and knowledge to stay safe in a digital world. Particularly suited to children and teens aged 11+, this essential book will be an invaluable resource for parents, teachers, youth workers, and anyone working with young people who could be exposed to cyberbullying.

As the uproar over the recent New York State law demonstrates, same-sex marriage is a perennial hot-button issue, certain to impact the 2012 election. Debating Same-Sex Marriage provides a useful roadmap to both sides of this contentious matter. Taking a "point/counterpoint" approach, JohnCorvino (a philosopher and a prominent gay advocate) and Maggie Gallagher (a nationally syndicated columnist and co-founder of the National Organization for Marriage) consider key questions about the institution itself: What is marriage for? Is marriage meant to be a gendered institution?Why is the state in the business of sanctioning marriage? Where do the needs of children fit in? Will legalization of same-sex marriage lead to legalization of polygamy? Corvino argues that society should support same-sex marriage because of its interest in supporting stable households for all itsmembers, gay and straight alike. Gallagher argues that government recognition of same-sex unions as marriages will disconnect marriage from its key public mission furthering responsible procreation, while stigmatizing traditional views of sex, marriage and family as bigotry. Both agree that theissue deserves thoughtful, rigorous engagement.

Virtually every crime gun in the United States starts off as a legal firearm, "according to then-Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) director Bradley Buckles. In a report, the ATF looked at how guns then "pass through the legitimate distribution system of federally licensed firearms dealers" before ending up in the hands of criminals. The ATF concluded, in part, that, "there is a large problem of diversion to the illegal market from licensed gun establishments". When a gun is recovered in a crime, the ATF can use the serial number on the gun to trace back to where it first left the legal market - tracing from the first sale of the firearm by an importer or manufacturer, to the wholesaler or retailer, to the first retail purchaser. In some cases, that first retail purchaser is the link between the legal and illegal markets. Looking at trace information, the ATF found that "a small group of dealers accounts for a disproportionately large number of crime gun traces". Over 85 percent of dealers in the U.S. had no crime guns traced to them at all in 1998, while about 1 percent of licensed firearm dealers accounted for 57 percent of traces that same year. The ATF also concluded that "sales volume alone cannot be said to account for the disproportionately large number of traces associated with those dealers". Gun control legislation is also analysed in this book.

Though the scientific community largely agrees that climate change is underway, debates about this issue remain fiercely polarized. These conversations have become a rhetorical contest, one where opposing sides try to achieve victory through playing on fear, distrust, and intolerance. At its heart, this split no longer concerns carbon dioxide, greenhouse gases, or climate modeling; rather, it is the product of contrasting, deeply entrenched worldviews. This brief examines what causes people to reject or accept the scientific consensus on climate change. Synthesizing evidence from sociology, psychology, and political science, Andrew J. Hoffman lays bare the opposing cultural lenses through which science is interpreted. He then extracts lessons from major cultural shifts in the past to engender a better understanding of the problem and motivate the public to take action. How Culture Shapes the Climate Change Debate makes a powerful case for a more scientifically literate public, a more socially engaged scientific community, and a more thoughtful mode of public discourse.

This collected volume presents immigration research from an interdisciplinary perspective. It includes chapters written by psychologists, sociologists, anthropologists, economists, educators, and lawyers. The book's chapters focus on both immigrants and the host societies, reflecting different narratives of immigration. The studies presented in the book use a wide array of methodologies: quantitative and qualitative research, longitudinal studies, and analyses of macro-level data. They also provide a broad time perspective on immigration processes that span from the pre-migration period, and include second and third generation immigrants. Finally, the book includes studies conducted in different parts of the world: in Australasia, Eastern and Western Europe, the Middle East, and both Americas.

Poverty, and calls to end it, date back centuries. Even in prosperous modern times, despite the huge transformation of society, poverty has persisted. This book looks back at the struggle to end poverty and asks if it is worth it. What would a poverty-free country be like? This book outlines the tragic waste poverty represents and why fighting it should be a top political priority. Although people differ over what causes poverty and how to reduce it, campaigners on all sides of the debate can learn something from the passionate contribution Julia Unwin offers in Why Fight Poverty? -- Christian Guy, Director, The Centre for Social Justice In this powerful and hard-hitting book, Julia Unwin challenges those who believe our current levels of poverty in the UK are acceptable and inevitable. Simplistic understandings of poverty coupled with our current attitudes and prejudices are blocking effective reform and human lives are wasted as a result. Unwin shows we can tackle this through a new social contract but only if we commit together to long-term and consistent solutions. An excellent book which will make a major contribution to help tackle the root causes of poverty in the UK today. -- Dr John Sentamu, Archbishop of York This book makes a powerful case that we can eliminate poverty if we want to. It challenges widely held misconceptions of the poor. Everyone, of all shades of opinion, should read this and then work out how they can help to repair our fractured society. -- Rabbi Baroness Julia Neuberger DBE, Senior Rabbi, West London Synagogue A hugely important book, adding a new and vital dimension to the poverty debate. -- Mary Riddell, columnist and political interviewer for the Daily Telegraph

This book highlights selected papers presented at the 2nd International Symposium on Artificial Intelligence and Robotics 2017 (ISAIR2017), held in Nakamura Centenary Memorial Hall, Kitakyushu, Japan on November 25-26, 2017. Today, the integration of artificial intelligence and robotic technologies has become a topic of growing interest for both researchers and developers from academic fields and industries worldwide, and artificial intelligence is poised to become the main approach pursued in next-generation robotics research. The rapidly growing number of artificial intelligence algorithms and big data solutions has significantly extended the number of potential applications for robotic technologies. However, it also poses new challenges for the artificial intelligence community. The aim of this symposium is to provide a platform for young researchers to share the latest scientific achievements in this field, which are discussed in these proceedings.

Recent world events have brought the issue of immigration to the forefront of media and journalism, cultural debates, and political campaigns. Calls for regulation are criticized as racist and xenophobic by some and deemed necessary by others. This resource addresses important questions surrounding the issue: How do immigration bans affect different groups? How can nations reconcile humanitarian and security concerns for refugees? How much of the nation's economy depends on immigrant labor? And finally, do increased border controls and deportations actually work?

Same-sex marriage continues to be a polarizing subject in the United States and other parts of the world. This new edition of Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference Handbook brings readers up to date on the status of same-sex unions from social, legal, political, and historical perspectives. * Presents up-to-date coverage of important events in the modern history of same-sex marriage in the United States and other parts of the world as well as public opinion and statistics on same-sex marriage * Describes and explains changes in the legal status of same-sex marriage since the U.S. Supreme Court decision on Obergefell v. Hodges in 2015 * Outlines potential future directions of the ongoing debate over same-sex marriage * Provides an extensive bibliography, a collection of documents, a set of essays, and other resources for extended study of the topic

The national debate over the legalization of marijuana is heating up as states begin to legalize its use for medicinal and recreational purposes. This volume deepens the discussion on marijuana; should it be legal or not? Does it help or harm users? Should medicinal use only be allowed? Answers to these questions will be debated for years to come, but this collection of essays, in a pro versus con sequence, will help readers make up their own minds now.

This up-to-date second-edition work will stimulate and clarify readers' thinking on the key issues surrounding guns in the United States--especially on the debate over gun control. * Provides a balanced view of the contemporary gun debate in the United States, explaining the positions of both gun rights proponents and advocates of stricter gun control without demonizing either * Draws on a vast array of research in criminology, history, law, medicine, politics, and social science to provide one of the most comprehensive single-source references on gun issues * Presents current and historical data on U.S. gun violence--including homicides, suicides, and accidental shoots--and places these numbers against international statistics on gun violence, thereby providing the context to enable readers to reach their own opinion on the gun debate