Skip to main content

BD.TEMPLATE: Articles

Databases are online, searchable collections of information resources, such as journal article citations (often with the full-text attached), eBooks, videos, reports, monographs, etc.
Find resources about a specific topic by using keywords, subject headings, authors, and more. Use limiters to narrow your results.

Databases

Databases provide a descriptive record of an item (journal article, video, book review, etc.). Information about the item is provided, including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, etc. The information provided is called a citation. Sometimes a short summary or abstract of the item is provided as well. The full text of the item may not always be available in the database you are using. If you need assistance, contact me!

Evaluating Websites

There is a vast amount of information available on the Internet.  However, the Internet is not regulated by any agency, so anyone can post information that may not be reliable.  Therefore, it is important to evaluate the information before using it as a source.

The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

If an article is available in any of the Barry databases, the link Full-Text @ Barry Library will provide access to the full text. If an article is available through another source [PDF], [DOC], or [HTML] will be noted next to the article.

  • Always evaluate the source and content of any article before including it in your research paper.
  • Search Google Scholar when you are logged in to the Barry server in order to obtain the full text.

Check out this tutorial for helpful tips on using Google Scholar: