I. Overview of the Collection
Title: Barry University Dance Program
Dates: 1995-
Location: 07-6B
Extent: 1 box (0.5 linear ft.)
Abstract: Collection of photographs, media, and ephemera related to the dance minor/dance theatre specialization programs offered within the Fine Arts Department at Barry University.
Language: English
II. Biographical/Historical note
Dance started in the 1952-1953 academic year as part of the University’s Physical Education curriculum. By 1974, the University had redefined the role of Dance making it a minor program under the direction of Marilyn Laudadio. In 1976, the program was moved under the Department of Fine Arts. In 1995, Ms. Yvonne Goodridge (nee Houston) became the program coordinator for Dance and updated the program to incorporate ethnic dance. By the fall semester of 1997, the Dance minor was expanded into two tracks: Dance Performance and Dance Education. In the 2005-2006 academic year, the University further expanded the role of the Dance program by adding the Dance Theatre Production Specialization track to the Theatre major.
III. The Collection
The collection is ongoing and includes all years from 1995 to the present. The collection includes photographs, media, and ephemera related to the dance minor/dance theatre specialization programs offered within the Fine Arts Department at Barry University. Dance productions done from 1995 onwards are represented by individual program guides. If specified, any accompanying photographs and media related to the program guides are located in the Photograph Collection and the Audiovisual Collection, respectively.
IV. Container list:
Barry Productions
Box Title
06b Auditions, 2012--
Recitals, 1994--
100 Years of Broadway: VHS, 1995 Apr.
Abstract, 2010 Mar.
Abstract: Video, 2010 Mar.
Archipelago, 2011 Mar.
Art in Motion: Digital Photographs, 2008 Nov.
Ashanti Seranata, 1999
Ashanti Seranata: photograph, 1999
Ballroom, photographs: 1995, 1996, 1999
Bittersweet, 2014
Chiaroscuro, 2008 Feb
Chiaroscuro: Video, 2008 Feb.
Dance ensemble: VHS, n.d.
Dancing from dusk till dawn, 2004, 2006
Flash back, Flash forward, 2006 Apr.
Freedom’s Journey, 2005 Feb.
Fusion, 2011
Interlusion: An evening of dance, 1995
Interlusion: Celebration of Dance, 1996 Mar.
Interlusion IV: Romance and Rhythm, 1998 Feb.
Interlusion V; VHS, 1999, Apr.
Interlusion VI: Dance tapestry, 2000 Feb.
Interlusion VI: Dance tapestry: photographs, 2000 Feb.
Interlusion VII: A tribute to Josephine Baker, 2001 Feb.
Interlusion: Something old, something new, something battered,
something blue, 2004 Apr.
Journey to Mount Olympus: photographs, 1996
Miss Julie, 2004 Mar.
Molting, 2012 Feb
Molting: Video, 2012 Feb.
Rediscovering, n.d.
Reflections, 2007 Feb.
Retrospective (spring Dance Concert), 2016 Apr.
Retrospective (spring Dance Concert): Poster, 2016 Apr.
Uncovering for Rediscovering, n.d.
Urban Memoirs, 2009 Dec.
We’re still here: 2012 Nov.–Dec.
We’re still here: Video, 2012 Nov.–Dec.
Winter Dance Showcase, 2003 Nov.
Winter Light, 2010 Dec.
Winter Light: Video, 2010 Dec.
Others
Box Title
Dance students: photographs, n.d., 1995-2010
Liturgy of the Holy Spirit, 2002--
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer from Ms. Yvonne Goodridge, Assistance Prof. of Dance, April 2013.
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Processed by: Ella Galbreath, 2013.
Research Guide: Ximena Valdivia, 2013
Preferred citation: Barry University Dance Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida.
