Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Library Guide: How to find resources in the library

This research guide is designed to provide all Barry University students a basic overview of the resources and services available at the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library.

 

The Library has a tremendous amount information resources and knowing where to look for what you need can be daunting. 
Types of resources include journal articles, books/eBooks, videos, reports, monographs, streaming media, and much more.

Below you will find a list of types of resources and which search tools to use in order to locate each.

Where to look for resources

Type

Description

Where to find

Articles - journals

Peer-reviewed (scholarly) journals gets critiqued by experts in the same field of study before being published. Since peer review takes time, scholarly information often takes longer to publish.

Databases

Encore search

Books/eBooks

Databases

Encore search

Library Catalog

Dissertations & Theses

Databases

Encore search

Library catalog

Magazines – Popular, Trade Journal

Databases

Encore search

Newspapers

For current issues and topical comment, newspapers can be good sources of information for primary research.

Encore search

Magazines and newspapers databases

Primary sources

information artifacts created or experienced during the time and event being researched. They are first-hand observations. Common examples include interviews, news footage, data sets, diaries, photographs, speeches, and original experimental data.

Databases

Encore search

Library catalog

Reference dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks

Background information

eReference databases

Streaming video

LibGuide

Encore search

Library catalog

Research Guides by Subject

LibGuides are created by librarians to guide students on the best information for a particular course, school, or subject.

These guides will recommend which databases are most useful to your field of study.