Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Barry University Photograph Collection: Photograph Collection

Container List

Series I: Beginnings

 Box     Files

 1          Groundbreaking

             Construction

              Blessing of the Cornerstone

              Dedication, 1940

              Early Campus Scenes

Series II: University Presidents, Faculty, Administrators and Others

 Sub-series A: Founders    

 2          Barry, Patrick, Bishop

            Barry, Gerald, Mother O.P.

            Thompson, John

            Green, Gonzaga, O.P. (First Prioress)

 Sub-Series B: Barry Family

 3          Homestead, County Clare, Ireland

            Immediate Family

            Family at Msgr. Barry’s Jubilee, 1960

            Barry Family

            Priest Nephews

Sub-Series C: Monsignor William Barry

 4          1910 – 1960’s

            Golden Jubilee, 1960

            Group portraits, n.d.

 Sub-Series D: Presidents

 5         Genevieve Weber, Mother O.P.

            Presidents Together

6          Dorothy Browne, O.P., 1950-80

7          Trinita Flood, O.P., 1959-92

8-8A    Jeanne O’Laughlin, OP, 1981-2004

8B       Linda Bevilacqua, O.P., 1959-

 

Sub-Series E: Dominican Sisters

 9          Albert-Moore

10        Morman-Weber

            Non-Adrian Sisters

11.       Group Portraits: Faculty, 1950’s-1990’s

            Barry Alums – Adrians

  Sub-Series F: Barry Clergy

 12        Burke, C.-Zapata, L.

            Group Pictures

  Sub-Series G: Board of Trustees

 14        Abagnale-Wilkowsi

            Lay Advisory Board, 1962

            Board of Governors, n.d.

  Sub-Series G: Administration

 15        Armesto-Weyman

 Sub-Series I: Faculty

 15A     Alexandrakis-Waters

            Dr. Rock Band

  Sub-Series J: Staff

 16        Early Staff

            Alvarez-Zmuda

            Institutional Advancement Staff

            University Relations

            Security Staff

            Physical Plant Staff

            Learning Center Staff

            Coaches

            Identity Unknown

  

Sub-Series K: Friends and Benefactors

 17        Andreas-Gramm        

17B     Posner, Paul

            Walsh, Bryan O.

18        Hesburgh-Wolf

            Honorary Degrees

 Sub-Series L: Campus Visitors

19        Alesky-Wolfe 

 Series III: Students

 Box     Files

 20-24   1940’s-2002

 

 Series IV: Athletics

 Box     Files

 25        Early Years

            1980 – 1990’s

            By sports

            Group Photos, Miscellaneous

 Series V: Facilities and Grounds

 Sub-Series M: Campus Scenes

 Box     Files

 26        1940’s–1990’s

            Tree Planting 1996

            Student Photography

Sub-Series N: Facilities

27        Chapel

            Buildings: Colored Photos, 1950-1960’s

            Aerial Views of Main Campus

            Symbols

28        Architectural Renderings

         Five Original Buildings

         Early Bldg. Interiors

         Library 1940-50

         Library 1950-68

         Msgr. Barry Library, 1966-

         Pentafort Pool

         Postcards

29        Andreas School of Business

         Thompson Hall

         Wiegand

         Wiegand Annex

         Charter School

         Lehman Building

         Powers Building

         Health/Sports Center

         Andreas Park

         Law School

30        Adrian Hall

            Farrell House

            Lavoie Hall

            Frank J. Rooney-ACE

            Kelly Hall

            Garner Building

            School Natural Health Sciences

            Browne Residence Hall

            Dalton-Dunspaugh Hall

            Flood Residence Hall

            Mottram-Doss Residence

            Sage Residence Hall

            Weber Residence Hall

            St. Francis/ Barry Nursing

31        Fine Arts Buildings, 1956-  

            Auditorium / Fine Arts Quadrangle

            Broad Center

            President’s House

32        Saint Lucy West

57.       Buildings Obsolete/ Non-Barry

     

Series VI: Events

Sub-Series O: Graduation

Box     Files

 33-36A1940’s-2004 May.      

36A     Undated

36C     1985-1995 oversize

             

Sub-Series P: Events various

36 B-42 Various

59        Various

Sub-Series Q: Special Events

 43        Culture Series, 1950’s-1960’s

            ICUF Dinner, 1972, 1975

            Board Governor’s Dinner, 1981

            International Ball, 1984

44        Coronation Ball, 1945-70

            Freshman Investiture, 1950’s -1960’s

45        President’s Dinner, 1971-88

46        Founder’s Day, 1946-93

47        Starlight Ball, 1979-96

 

Series VII: Schools & Departments

 Box     Files

 48        ACE

            Arts and Sciences

            Business

            Education

            Information Technology

            Leisure & Health Sciences

            Law

            Home Economics

49       Natural Health Sciences

           Nursing                                                                     

            Social Work

50        Podiatric Medicine

            Physician Assistant

51       Fine Arts

52       Programs: Embry-Riddle  Mec

           Programs: Air Force- Rotc

55       Archives, 1995-

 Series VIII: Associations

 Sub-Series R: Alumni

  Box    Files

 53-54   Members

            Events

 Sub-Series S: Auxiliary

 Box     Files

 58        1950s – 1990s

            Undated

 Series IX: Miscellaneous

 Catholic Church Clergy/ Hierarchy

 Box     Files

13        Popes

            Bishops

            Monsignors

            Priests Various

           Jewish Dignitaries

Others

Box     Files

            History Book 

            Dominicans at Barry

            Aids Rally

 

Proofs & Negatives

 Box     Files

 56        Scanned

            Photographs   

Barry University Photograph Collection

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Barry University Photograph Collection

Dates: 1939-

Extent:  80 boxes (68 linear ft.)

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

II. Historical note

In June 1940, a 40 acre tract of lush, tropical vegetation located in Miami Shores was transformed into one of the leading centers of education in South Florida. Founded by the Most Reverend Patrick Barry, Bishop of St. Augustine, and Reverend Mother M. Gerald Barry, prioress General of the Dominican Sisters of Adrian, Michigan, and supported by Reverend Monsignor William Barry and Mayor of Miami Shores John Graves Thompson, Barry University offers a supportive atmosphere, intellectual excellence and an 800-year tradition of truth-seeking and dedication to service.

In the years since Barry first opened its doors, the campus has expanded to more than 122 acres and 17 locations throughout Florida, including seven Schools and two Colleges with numerous liberal arts and professional disciplines.

 Today, the Barry University community is comprised of nearly 9,000 students, served by more than 2,100 administrators, faculty members and support staff from a wide range of religious, cultural and ethnic backgrounds. The faculty and administration have worked closely together to serve the student population and the local community surrounding the University, where our expansion and growth have kept pace with excellence in education programs. The Physical plant includes 54 buildings, with indoor and outdoor athletic facilities, spread over 80 of our 122-acre campus.

 Barry University has had six Adrian Dominican Sisters serve as president since its inception. They include: Mother M. Gerard Barry, 1940-1961; Mother M. Genevieve Weber, 1962-1963; Sister Dorothy Browne, 1963-1974; Sister M. Trinita Flood, 1974-1981; Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin, 1981-2004; and Sister Linda Bevilacqua, July 2004 – present.

Source: History and Legacy. Barry University Website. Retrieved on April 2012 from: http://www.barry.edu/about/history/history-barry-university.html

 III. The Collection

University Archives is the official repository of records that document the history and memory of Barry University. In support of the educational mission of Barry University, the mission of the University Archives is to identify, collect, organize, describe, preserve and provide access to materials that document the historical record of the people, programs, policies, facilities, activities, and achievements of Barry University, from its founding in 1940 to the present..

 Barry University Archives holds over 18,000 black and white photographs, photo albums, negatives and slides that document Barry’s growth since 1940 through the Presidency of Sister Jeanne O’Laughlin, O.P. Material may be only used in the Archives reading room.

 This guide provides a general understanding on how the collection is organized, for more details please see Finding Aid available at Archives. The images available at this site are in a lower quality, high quality images are also available, and for publication additional cost can be required.

 The Collection is arranged into series and sub-series to better represent the content of the collection:

 Series I: Beginnings

Series II: University Presidents, Faculty Administrators and Others

Sub-Series A: Founders

Sub-Series B: Barry Family

Sub-Series C: Monsignor William Barry

Sub-Series D: Presidents

Sub-Series E: Dominican Sisters

Sub-Series F: Barry Clergy

Sub-Series G: Board of Trustees

Sub-Series H: Administration

Sub-Series I:  Faculty

Sub-Series J: Staff

Sub-Series K: Friends and Benefactors

Sub-Series L: Campus Visitors

Series III: Students

Series IV: Athletics

Series V: Facilities and Grounds

Sub-Series M: Campus Scenes

Sub-Series N: Facilities

Series VI: Events

Sub-Series O: Graduation

Sub-Series P: Events various

Sub-Series Q: Special Events

Series VII: Schools and Departments

Series VIII: Associations

Sub-Series R: Alumni

Sub-Series S: Auxiliary

Series IX: Miscellaneous

 

V. Administrative Information

 

Acquisition Information: Transfer, n.d.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Jean Comiskey, 2006-2010. Revised by Ximena Valdivia 2012

Preferred Citation: Barry University Photograph Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida