Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

9 School of Education: Adrian Dominican School of Education

Records of Adrian Dominican School of Education, 09

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Records of Adrian Dominican School of Education

Dates: 1974--

Creator: Barry University. Adrian Dominican School of Education

Location: 09 / 1-3

Extent: 3 boxes (1.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

From its founding in 1940 Barry College included the training of teachers in its liberal arts curriculum. Before the college opened its doors, contact was made with the Florida State Department of Education regarding teacher education. In a letter dated Feb. 15, 1940, Sister Gonzaga Greene wrote to Mother Gerald: "I was delighted to hear of your success at Tallahassee. It is marvelous that the permission was granted to say that we have the approval of the State Supt. to prepare teachers." The first Barry College catalog (1940-41) on page 63 carries this notation prefacing a list of education courses to be offered: "With the kind cooperation of the Florida State Department of Education a teacher training program has been set up at Barry College." There follow the names of 13 courses, basic for teacher certification in elementary and secondary schools in Florida. Masters' degrees were approved in 1954. Top priority was assigned to developing first-rate teachers, and Barry graduates were eagerly recruited for the Dade and Broward county school systems.

The Education Department was officially formed in 1942 with Sister Dorothy Browne, O.P., as the first chairperson. She held this office until 1957 except for the academic year 1950-51 when Sister Mary Albert Lenaway, O.P., was the head of the department. Sister Marie Claudia Stiehan, O.P., (1957-61), Sister Ruth Albert Ward, O.P., (1961-64), Sister Ann Thomas Griffin, O.P., (1965-73), and Dr. John Maguire (1973-74) were subsequent chairpersons. In 1974 the School of Education was created, with Dr. Maguire as the first dean, a position he held until 1985, when Sister Evelyn Piche, O.P., became dean. Sister Evelyn retired in 2006 and Dr. Terry Piper became the dean. Teacher education programs have been integral to Barry University since its inception and have always emphasized close personal relationships between advisors and students, quality teaching in the classroom, and varied professional field experiences for students in training. In 1990, the golden anniversary of the founding of Barry University, the School of Education was renamed the Adrian Dominican School of Education in honor of the long standing commitment of the Adrian Dominican religious congregation.

 

III. The Collection

The collection includes administrative records, files documenting various academic programs, files of events and publicity.

 

IV. Container list:

Series I: Administrative Files

 Box     Title

 1          General information

            Annual reports, 1975-1981, 1992-1998

2          Accreditation Notification, 1997

Evaluation of School of Education, 1979

Florida Keys Community College, 1999

Grants, 2002-

Handbook for Faculty, 1997

History of School of Education, 1991

Institutional Program Evaluation Plan, 2003

Miccosukee Indian Initiative, 2001

Quality of Teacher Preparation, 2001

Self-Study, 1974

 

Series II: Academic Programs

 2          Academic Programs: general, 2003-

Migrant Education Program

Montessori Education, 1994-

Ph.D. in Leadership - proposal, 1990

Teacher Education program

 

Series III: Events

 2          Conferences, workshops, etc.

Education Day, 1987-

Open House, 2006-

Research Day, 2005-

Wall of Fame, 2004

 

Series IV: Publicity

 3          Alumni news, 1980-

Brochures

Clippings

Faculty news

Leaflets

3          Miscellaneous

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, President's Office, 2009 Dec.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of Adrian Dominican School of Education, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

 

 

Subject Guide

Dominique  St. Victor's picture
Dominique St. Victor
Contact:
dstvictor@barry.edu
Subjects:Archives